Hennepin County Library - KidLinks
homework tools
home > homework help > history
 
history
DATABASES
 
America the Beautiful
Offers state history and current events. Includes images, maps, a timeline, quizzes and games. For elementary and middle school students.
American Indian Experience
Offers articles as well as primary documents, including treaties, speeches, traditional tales, maps and photos.
FreedomFlix
Explore significant events in history using Scholastic's Cornerstones of Freedom book series. You can watch videos, read books online and other related material, visit recommended websites, do a project, and answer questions about your topic.
Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia
An encyclopedia of articles, images, maps, sound and multimedia. Research Starters offers suggestions for topics to study and a research plan for each topic. For middle and high school students.
Kids InfoBits
For beginning researchers in K-5. Full-text content is from elementary reference sources and magazines. Topics cover geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history and sports.
Searchasaurus
Search for encyclopedia and magazine articles about your favorite topic. Includes images and a dictionary. For kids in grades K-5.
Student Resources in Context
Subjects include biography, literature, history, science, and multiculturalism. Includes full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary documents, topical essays, biographies, critical analyses, timelines, photos and maps.
TrueFlix
Investigate people, places, history as well as science and nature by reading books and articles, watching videos, doing projects, playing games, and exploring related websites.
U.S. History In Context
Primary documents, secondary sources, and journal articles covering all areas of U.S. history. Formerly titled History Resource Center: U.S.
World History In Context
Broad coverage moving chronologically from antiquity to the present and geographically around the globe. Content includes primary sources, reference books, periodicals, maps, atlases and images.
 
 
WEBSITES
 
African American Registry 
An encyclopedia of African American people and heritage. Search by keyword, category or by name.
America's Story 
Famous Americans, the 50 states and more. Jump back in time to your birth date. From the Library of Congress.
Ben's Guide to Government 
Information about how government works. Organized by grade level. From the U.S. Government.
Black History 
Photos and information about famous African-Americans, plus links to books, timelines, places in history and more.
Countries & States 
Find information about any country or state in the U.S.
Hispanic Heritage 
Meet famous Latinos and learn about Hispanic history in the Americas.
Native American Websites 
Information from over 100 websites about Native American tribes. From Multnomah County Library, OR.
Native Americans: Facts for Kids 
Excellent for school reports. Information on over 33 Native American tribes, including Chippewa (Ojibwe).
Native Web: Nations List 
Alphabetical list of tribes and nations, including local groups. Links to official websites included.
Presidents of the United States 
Video, audio, photos and facts for all 44 Presidents from the History Channel.
This Day in History 
Choose a day of the month to find out what happened in past years. From the History Channel.
Time Capsule: On the Day You Were Born 
Enter a day, month and year. Then click on Quick Page to get a list of news headlines, top songs, prices, and more.
U. S. History Timeline 
Scroll through the timeline for key events in America.
Women's History 
Biographies of notable women and information on the history of women’s rights.