bookspacePhoto of readerblog
 home > bookspace > blog
Speculative Fiction Awards
Cover Art Horror fans rejoice! The Bram Stoker Awards from the Horror Writers Association were just announced. Winners include:

Best novel: Doctor Sleep by Stephen King

Sci Fi and fantasy fans rejoice! The Nebula Awards from the Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America were just announced. Winners include:

Best novel: Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie
Best young adult novel: Sister Mine by Nalo Hopkinson
posted May 20, 2014 by Jody W. Category: Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror

Life After Game of Thrones
Cover Art The wait is finally over! Nearly a year after the completion of the second series, HBO will be airing the third season premiere of Game of Thrones this Sunday night, March 31. Based on the wildly successful George R.R. Martin books, the television drama series tells the story of the Seven Kingdoms and the charismatic personalities who are fighting for power.

If you found yourself won over by the intrigues, the scandals and all-around great fantasy storytelling, you may enjoy a similar epic series in our list of read-a-likes. These titles are Book 1 in multi-part science fiction series, allowing you to delve deep into other worlds and lose yourself in the escape. Enjoy and remember, winter is coming!
posted Mar 29, 2013 by Anne P. Category: Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror

Nebula Award Nominees Announced
Cover Art The Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America just nominated their fellow writers in the following categories:

Saladin Ahmed's Throne of the Crescent Moon
Tina Connolly's Ironskin
N.K. Jemisin's The Killing Moon
Caitlin R. Kiernan's The Drowning Girl
Mary Robinette Kowal's Glamour in Glass
Kim Stanley Robinson's 2312

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction & Fantasy
Kelly Barnhill's Iron Hearted Violet
Holly Black's Black Heart
Leah Bobet's Above
Libba Bray's The Diviners
Sarah Beth Durst's Vessel
Rachel Hartman's Seraphina
Alethea Kontis' Enchanted
David Levithan's Every Day
Guadalupe Garcia McCall's Summer of the Marioposas
China Mieville's Railsea
E.C. Myers' Fair Coin
Jenn Reese's Above World

See the complete list on SFWA.
posted Feb 20, 2013 by Jody W. Category: Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror

Best of the Best
Since 1975 the Science Fiction Writers of America recognizes outstanding authors with a lifetime achievement award called the Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master. Here are just a few of the winners, including some from Minnesota!

Robert A. Heinlein (1975)
Clifford D. Simak (1977) - Minnesota
Andre Norton (1984)
Ray Brandbury (1989)
Damon Knight (1995)
Poul Anderson (1998) - Minnesota
Ursula K. Le Guin (2003)
Anne McCaffrey (2005)
Michael Moorcock (2008)
Connie Willis (2012)
Gene Wolfe (2013)
posted Jan 15, 2013 by Jody W. Category: Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror

hcl mobile app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS