bookspacePhoto of readermy comments
 home > bookspace > my comments > comment: the bone key /
Subscribe via RSS 
The bone key
Monette, Sarah.
Adult Fiction MONETTE

Comments  Summary  Reviews

From Publishers' Weekly:

Writing in the tradition of M.R. James and Algernon Blackwood, Monette reconstructs the traditional English ghost story-insinuated horror, no gratuitous sex or violence-with a decidedly modern-day approach in this laudable collection of 10 necromantic mystery stories featuring introverted museum archivist Kyle Murchison Booth. Noteworthy selections include "Elegy for a Demon Lover," which chronicles Booth's entanglement with a seductive otherworldly entity who teaches him about "pleasure and pain and the shadowed places in-between." In the brilliantly Lovecraftian "Bringing Helena Back," Booth agrees to help an old college friend bring his wife back from the dead, with horrifying results. Booth also investigates the skeleton of a woman sealed within the basement walls of the museum where he works, a house haunted by the spirit of a young girl and the ghost of a murdered private school student. Cerebral, ethereal and stylishly understated, this entrancing collection will appeal to fans of literary horror, dark fantasy and supernatural mystery. (Jan.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved


Be the first to add a comment! Share your thoughts about this title. Would you recommend it? Why or why not?

Question about returns, requests or other account details?
 Add a Comment
Submission Guidelines

Find this title in the Library Catalog
Find this title in the Library Catalog


more titles about

recent comments
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS