bookspacePhoto of readermy comments
 home > bookspace > my comments > comment: stalking susan /
Subscribe via RSS 
Stalking Susan
Julie Kramer
Adult Fiction KRAMER

Comments  Summary  Excerpt  Reviews

From Publishers' Weekly:

Kramer's impressive debut, a thriller, introduces Riley Spartz, a Twin Cities investigative TV journalist. Riley's favorite source, a former Minneapolis homicide detective, suspects a serial killer is behind two cold murder cases of women named Susan strangled on November 19 one year apart. Still grieving for her late patrolman husband, Riley relishes the distraction of a possible hot story. After discovering that a raincoat links the two victims, one a 26-year-old waitress, the other a teen prostitute, Riley unearths other cases that may fit the pattern, including the apparently solved murder of a former Miss Duluth and the suspicious suicide of a terminally ill woman. Kramer, a freelance television producer, delivers more than another ho-hum remix of a 48 Hours episode thanks to a snappy subplot--Riley's exposure of a bad veterinarian doing scam pet cremations. Readers will look forward to seeing a lot more of the appealing Riley, who cares about justice as much as snagging at least a 40 audience share. (July) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

From Library Journal:

First-time author Kramer uses her insider knowledge as a freelance news producer for the Today Show and Dateline to take the reader into the competitive world of the Minneapolis local television news scene. Reporter Riley Spartz isn't sure she's ready to return to work after a personal tragedy, but when a source (literally) drops an investigation into her lap, she decides now may be the time. The cold case involves the murder of two different women named Susan. Both were strangled on the same date, one year apart. As Riley delves further, she finds there are other Susans who have been killed in other years. Upping the ante is the approach of the anniversary; adding to the pressure for Riley is the sweeps drive for ratings at her station and a news director who thinks a story about the fraudulent disposal of dead dogs will be more interesting than a far-fetched story about murdered Susans. Though the climax of the mystery stretched credulity a bit, this is a fast-paced and nicely characterized debut that will appeal to fans of Linda Fairstein and Laura Lippman. Recommended for all public libraries.--Jane Jorgenson, Madison P.L., WI (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted. All rights reserved.

Question about returns, requests or other account details?
 Add a Comment
Submission Guidelines

Find this title in the Library Catalog
Find this title in the Library Catalog


related book list

more titles about

main characters Riley Spartz
Female
Widow
Still grieving over the death of her patrolman husband; investigative TV journalist; searching for a connection behind the deaths of women named Susan.
Investigative journalist



recent comments
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS