bookspacePhoto of readermy comments
 home > bookspace > my comments > comment: revenge of the spellmans /
Subscribe via RSS 
Revenge of the Spellmans
Lisa Lutz
Adult Fiction LUTZ

Comments  Summary  Excerpt  Reviews  Author Notes

From Publishers' Weekly:

San Francisco PI Isabel "Izzy" Spellman endures court-ordered therapy sessions as well as blackmail in Lutz's wacky crime novel, the third entry (after Curse of the Spellmans) in a series that keeps getting better and better. Albert and Olivia Spellman, Izzy's parents, want her to return to work for the family PI firm; otherwise, they may have to sell it. While Izzy contemplates their offer, she secretly moves into her brother's guest apartment; helps her elderly lawyer friend, Mort Schilling, accept his upcoming move to Florida; and mourns the loss of her bartending job. Will she rediscover her yen for snooping when she takes on "the Case of Ernie Black's Not Terribly Suspicious Wife Who Probably Wasn't Cheating on Him"? Or say sayonara to snooping? Hyper spy girl Rae, Izzy's teenage sister (who may have cheated on her PSAT), provides dizzy distractions. Punctuating the rapid-fire plot are amusing therapy session transcripts and footnotes. (Mar.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

From Library Journal:

Those crazy Spellmans return, in all their serendipitous glory, in this third series entry (after The Spellman Files and Curse of the Spellmans). Isabel "Izzy" Spellman is in court-ordered therapy following her obsessive behavior and stalking to prove that their law-abiding neighbor was a criminal, and Izzy's private investigator parents and junior detective sister are busy snooping into Izzy's life. She's bartending while she tries to figure out what she wants to do, but her boss, a family friend, decides to push her back into the real world by coyly suggesting that he has a friend who needs a little detective work. Nothing in the Spellman world is ever simple, and this cheating wife investigation throws Izzy's outrageous life back into full gear. Fans of Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum books, Kathleen Bacus's Calamity Jayne novels, Toni Causey's Bobbie Faye series, and Leslie Langtry's "Greatest Hits" romances featuring the Bombay family assassins will enjoy Lutz's Spellman books. Highly recommended for all popular fiction collectons. [See Prepub Alert, LJ 11/15/08.]-Shelley Mosley, Glendale Community Coll. Lib. Media Ctr., AZ (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Question about returns, requests or other account details?
 Add a Comment
Submission Guidelines

Find this title in the Library Catalog
Find this title in the Library Catalog


more titles about

main characters Isabel "Izzy" Spellman
Female
Age: 30
In court-appointed therapy; her parents want her to come back to the family business; moves into her brother's basement apartment unbeknownst to him; her elderly lawyer friend is moving to Florida; investigating a cheating spouse case.
Bartender

Rae Spellman
Female
Age: 15
Isabel and David's younger sister; aces the SAT.
Student

David Spellman
Male
Izzy and Rae's brother; has adopted an unkempt appearance and attitude toward work and life; unaware Lizzy has moved into his basement apartment.
Lawyer



recent comments
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS