bookspacePhoto of readermy comments
 home > bookspace > my comments > comment: the physick book of deliverance dane : a novel /
Subscribe via RSS 
The physick book of Deliverance Dane : a novel
Howe, Katherine
Adult Fiction HOWE

Comments  Summary  Reviews  Author Notes

From Publishers' Weekly:

Howe's novel moves back and forth between the summer of 1991 in Salem, Mass., and the 17th-century witch trial era, as college student Connie Goodwin chances upon a mysterious book written by the elusive Deliverance Dane. The characters are thin and the plot predictable, but Katherine Kellgren does her best with the material. Her voice is pleasing, her pacing and emphasis good, her diction clear but conversational. Most of her characters are distinguishable and reasonably represented, but the exaggerated British accent she adopts for the villain makes him more comical than terrifying. A Hyperion/Voice hardcover (Reviews, May 25). (June) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

From Library Journal:

First-time author Howe contrasts the experiences of herbalist Deliverance Dane in 17th-century Salem, MA, with that of Harvard graduate student Connie Goodwin in 20th-century Boston. The plot is predictable, and the characters are poorly developed. (Also: a library that allows students to check out rare 300-year-old texts? In your dreams, Howe!) But actress Katherine Kellgren's youthful, appealing voice is a good match for the material; she's especially proficient in her reading of the historical characters. Brief musical interludes clue listeners in to the time shifts. Recommended for the book's popularity and the excellent narration. [The Hyperion hc was recommended as "a solid selection" likely to appeal to readers who enjoyed Brunonia Barry's The Lace Reader and Kathleen Kent's The Heretic's Daughter, LJ 5/15/09.-Ed.]-Juleigh Muirhead Clark, Colonial Williamsburg Fdn. Lib., VA (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Question about returns, requests or other account details?
 Add a Comment
Submission Guidelines

Find this title in the Library Catalog
Find this title in the Library Catalog


more titles about

recent comments
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS