bookspacePhoto of readermy comments
 home > bookspace > my comments > comment: the slippery year : a meditation on happily ever after /
Subscribe via RSS 
The slippery year : a meditation on happily ever after
Gideon, Melanie
Adult Fiction GIDEON

Comments  Summary  Excerpt  Reviews  Author Notes

From Library Journal:

First-time memoirist Gideon opens with what appears to be a midlife, marital crisis, recounting her vague malaise with her comfortable but banal existence as an upper-middle-class wife and mother. However, the titular "slippery year" turns out to be simply a contrived way to link 12 essays, which are all essentially meditations on the author's various fears and neuroses and the absurdities of modern life. Gideon is a good writer, and her essays are filled with striking and often amusing observations, but they never coalesce into a coherent whole. Read her insightful takes on modern life in bites. Readalike: Elizabeth Gilbert's Eat Pray Love.-Lauren Gilbert, Cold Spring Harbor Library and Environmental Center, NY (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Be the first to add a comment! Share your thoughts about this title. Would you recommend it? Why or why not?

Question about returns, requests or other account details?
 Add a Comment
Submission Guidelines

Find this title in the Library Catalog
Find this title in the Library Catalog


more titles about

recent comments
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS