bookspacePhoto of readermy comments
 home > bookspace > my comments > comment: girl in the arena : a novel containing intense prolonged sequences of disaster a
Subscribe via RSS 
Girl in the arena : a novel containing intense prolonged sequences of disaster a
Lise Haines
Teen Fiction HAINES

Comments  Summary  Reviews  Author Notes

Summary: It's a fight to the death--on live TV--when a gladiator's daughter steps into the arena Lyn is a neo-gladiator's daughter, through and through. Her mother has made a career out of marrying into the high-profile world of televised blood sport, and the rules of the Gladiator Sports Association are second nature to their family. Always lend ineffable confidence to the gladiator. Remind him constantly of his victories. And most importantly: Never leave the stadium when your father is dying. The rules help the family survive, but rules--and the GSA--can also turn against you. When a gifted young fighter kills Lyn's seventh father, he also captures Lyn's dowry bracelet, which means she must marry him... For fans of The Hunger Games and Fight Club , Lise Haines' debut novel is a mesmerizing look at a world addicted to violence--a modern world that's disturbingly easy to imagine.


Be the first to add a comment! Share your thoughts about this title. Would you recommend it? Why or why not?

Question about returns, requests or other account details?
 Add a Comment
Submission Guidelines

Find this title in the Library Catalog
Find this title in the Library Catalog


related book list

more titles about

main characters Lyn
Female
Father is killed by a gladiator; his murder becomes her father;.



recent comments
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS