bookspacePhoto of readermy comments
 home > bookspace > my comments > comment: the unscratchables /
Subscribe via RSS 
The unscratchables
Cornelius Kane
Adult Fiction KANE

Comments  Summary  Excerpt  Reviews  Author Notes

From Publishers' Weekly:

Det. Max "Crusher" McNash, a fearless bull terrier in the slaughter unit of the San Bernardo police dog force, must overcome his distrust of special agent Cassius Lap, a very Zen Siamese of the FBI (Feline Bureau of Investigation), in their pursuit of a serial killer cat targeting dogs in this off-the-leash hard-boiled satire from the pseudonymous Kane. The fur begins flying when two rottweilers are torn apart. Later victims include a retriever attending a museum shindig, movie star Jack Russell Crowe and a newshound. Crusher and Cassius deal with gangsta hounds as well as visit Kathattan, an island where dogs are unwelcome, and Cattica Correctional Facility, where convicted murderer Quentin Riossiti, a debonair psycho cat, offers his help for a price. Billed as "a well-known Australian author," Kane offers plenty of tongue-in-muzzle insights into bestial behavior, political chicanery and assorted foxy topics. (July) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

From Library Journal:

In the vein of The Big Sleep or Animal Farm, Kane (the pseudonym of Australian author Anthony O'Neill) combines hard-boiled mystery and social satire. Unlike other animal sleuths (e.g., Lilian Jackson Braun's Ko-Ko and Yum-Yum), these creatures live in a human-free world. Max "Crusher" McNash, a bulldog detective with the San Bernardo Slaughter Unit, teams up with Cassius Lap, a Siamese from the Feline Bureau of Investigation to track down the perpetrator of a series of gruesome murders (several rottweiler gangsters are offed, and a feral feline serial killer is suspected). Could the crimes be connected to the ambitions of fox media magnate Phineas Reynard? Verdict A smart and entertaining read that will appeal to all noir readers-even those who normally detest animal mysteries.-Susan Hayes, Chattahoochee Valley Libs., Columbus, GA (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Be the first to add a comment! Share your thoughts about this title. Would you recommend it? Why or why not?

Question about returns, requests or other account details?
 Add a Comment
Submission Guidelines

Find this title in the Library Catalog
Find this title in the Library Catalog


more titles about

main characters Max "Crusher" McNash
Male
Dog
Pit bull terrier; investigating the suspicious deaths of two Rottweilers.
Police detective

Cassius Lap
Female
Cat
Siamese; investigating the suspicious deaths of two Rottweilers.
FBI agent



recent comments
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS