bookspacePhoto of readermy comments
 home > bookspace > my comments > comment: rock paper tiger /
Subscribe via RSS 
Rock paper tiger
Lisa Brackmann
Adult Fiction BRACKMA

Comments  Summary  Excerpt  Reviews  Author Notes

From Publishers' Weekly:

Ellie Cooper, the heroine of Brackmann's electrifying debut, is an Iraq War vet trying to forget her past while bumming around the fringes of the Beijing art world. Having been ditched by her husband, Trey, a former army interrogator now working in China as a private security consultant, Ellie has drifted into a relationship with the artist Lao Zhang, as well as into a fog of Percocet and ennui in order to escape her memories of Iraq. After Zhang disappears with a mysterious Uighur, Ellie becomes a person of interest to U.S. and Chinese authorities, and soon Ellie's evading goons and cops, getting information from Zhang's friends via a massive multiplayer online game, and flashing back to her experiences as a combat medic at an Abu Ghraib-like detention center. The China scenes are fast paced and strikingly atmospheric, and Ellie's backstory-her and Trey's return from combat is tough, sad, and endearing-is given in doses that perfectly complement the central action. Given the high-octane leadup, the ending is a bit of a letdown, but the book's exotic setting and tough heroine will definitely appeal to fans of John Burdett and Stieg Larsson. (June) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

From Library Journal:

Both veterans of the Iraq War, 26-year-old Ellie McEnroe and her husband, Trey Cooper, find themselves living in China, where Trey works as a security consultant for a large corporation. After moving and adjusting to a new country, what Ellie doesn't expect is to come home and find her husband in bed with a Chinese woman he immediately declares himself to be in love with. They separate, and Ellie, now known as Yili, is living a new life with a new set of friends, including Chinese artist Lao Zhang, aka Zhang Jianli. Yili's life takes yet another turn when she finds herself on the run in China from both American and Chinese security intelligence after a single brief and accidental meeting with Zhang's friend Hashim, an alleged Uighur terrorist. This debut novel is a snapshot of a very modern China filled with coffee shops, Internet cafes, and gamers. Brackmann's experience in the motion picture industry is evident, as Ellie's military backstory is cleverly interwoven and revealed throughout. Verdict A gritty and intriguing tale of terror that draws in the reader with each page; Brackmann is a new writer to watch.-Shirley N. Quan, Orange Cty. P.L., Santa Ana, CA (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Be the first to add a comment! Share your thoughts about this title. Would you recommend it? Why or why not?

Question about returns, requests or other account details?
 Add a Comment
Submission Guidelines

Find this title in the Library Catalog
Find this title in the Library Catalog


more titles about

main characters Ellie McEnroe
Female
American
Trying to lose herself in Beijing's world of performance artists and online gamers; life is turned upside-down after meeting a Muslim fugitive; friend goes missing; security organizations are hounding her for information.



recent comments
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS