bookspacePhoto of readermy comments
 home > bookspace > my comments > comment: cakewalk : a memoir /
Subscribe via RSS 
Cakewalk : a memoir
Moses, Kate.
Adult Nonfiction PS3613.O779 C35 2010

Comments  Summary  Contents  Excerpt  Reviews  Author Notes

From Library Journal:

Take one unreliable, self-absorbed mother, mix with an angry, distant father, add a wicked sweet tooth, and blend in the artist's transcendent desire to create and be known, and you have the recipe for Moses's bittersweet memoir. The novelist and noted on-line raconteur intersperses sketches of her painful 1960s childhood with recipes for the gorgeous baked goods that may have saved her sanity as her deracinated family fell apart. The episodes are beautifully drawn, and Moses's triumph in forging a life of accomplishment and happiness seems like the real just dessert here. Appealing to fans of both literary and culinary memoir, this rises above the recent spate of misery memoirs. Readalikes: Frank Bruni's Born Round, M.F.K. Fisher's The Gastronomical Me, and Giulia Melucci's I Loved, I Lost, I Made Spaghetti.-Therese Purcell Nielsen (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Be the first to add a comment! Share your thoughts about this title. Would you recommend it? Why or why not?

Question about returns, requests or other account details?
 Add a Comment
Submission Guidelines

Find this title in the Library Catalog
Find this title in the Library Catalog


more titles about

recent comments
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS