bookspacePhoto of readermy comments
 home > bookspace > my comments > comment: where she went /
Subscribe via RSS 
Where she went
Gayle Forman
Teen Fiction FORMAN

Comments  Summary  Reviews  Author Notes

From Publishers' Weekly:

"I know it's really cheesy-crass even-to compare my being dumped to the accident that killed Mia's family, but I can't help it. Because for me, at any rate, the aftermath felt exactly the same." Forman follows up her bestselling If I Stay with a story that is equally if not more powerful, set three years after the previous book and told from the perspective of Mia's former boyfriend, Adam. Mia and Adam haven't seen each other since she left for Juilliard, deserting him just months after emerging from her coma. Adam's anguish found an outlet in songwriting, and the resulting album, Collateral Damage, has become a sensation, turning Adam and his band into bona fide rock stars, though he's barely keeping it together. Mia's career as a cellist is taking off as well, and a chance meeting in New York City gives Mia and Adam the opportunity to exorcise the ghosts of their past. Having spent If I Stay in Mia's head, readers are, like Adam, thrust into a state of unknowing regarding Mia's thoughts and motivations. It's an extremely effective device, and one that makes this reunion all the more heartrending. Ages 14-up. (Apr.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

From Library Journal:

Right after Mia decides to keep living, she walks out of Adam's life, seemingly forever. Mia heads to the East Coast to Julliard, leaving Adam to wallow in his misery and score an entire album of angst-ridden songs, which promptly top the charts. Three years later, riding the wave of superstardom, Adam, still suffering from the break, runs into Mia in New York City. They have one night to say all of the things they've left unsaid. Read by Dan Bittner, who efficiently develops the poetry and lyrical qualities of the book without making it fatuous, Adam's story, like Mia's, progresses while fluctuating between past and present, allowing the reader insight and empathy. Though it packs much less of an emotional punch than its prequel, If I Stay, Where She Went creates a tidy "happy ever after." Verdict Fans of the previous novel will be pleased with the sense of conclusion, and the romance, but new readers may feel let down here by the low-key story and lack of emotional build-up. Recommended for fans of Sarah Dessen's That Summer and Nicholas Sparks's The Notebook. [The Dutton Juvenile hc, published in April, was a New York Times best seller; see "35 Going on 13," BookSmack! 6/16/11.-Ed.]-Terry Ann Lawler, Phoenix P.L. (c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Be the first to add a comment! Share your thoughts about this title. Would you recommend it? Why or why not?

Question about returns, requests or other account details?
 Add a Comment
Submission Guidelines

Find this title in the Library Catalog
Find this title in the Library Catalog


related book list

more titles about

main characters Mia
Female
Age: 20
Survived the car accident that killed her parents and younger brother; broke up with the love of her life three years ago; attending Juliard as a cellist; reunited with Adam when he attends her concert.
Musician

Adam
Male
Age: 20
Dated Mia three years ago; enjoying his rock star status and his celebrity girlfriend; reunited with Mia after he watches her perform at Carnegie Hall.
Rock star



recent comments
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS