bookspacePhoto of readermy comments
 home > bookspace > my comments > comment: white truffles in winter [sound recording] : [a novel] /
Subscribe via RSS 
White truffles in winter [sound recording] : [a novel]
Kelby, N. M.
Adult Fiction KELBY

Comments  Reviews

From Library Journal:

Auguste Escoffier, once the king of chefs and chef of kings, was a passionate romantic, obsessed with the fifth taste-deliciousness-and beautiful women. As his poetess wife of 55-plus years, Delphine Daffis Escoffier, is on her death bed, Auguste reminisces about his life, his delectable inventions, and his lover Sarah Bern-hardt, the beautiful, scandalous actress. Seen through the wry, witty, and bitter eyes of Sabine, who has been hired to cook for the couple in their last days, Auguste is portrayed with compassion and sumptuousness. As the novel progresses, Auguste, the paramount amour expert, orchestrates the ultimate romantic recipe between Sabine and his last protege. VERDICT Read by the author, who sounds like she's on the verge of laughter through most of the book, this is a delightful listen, if even just for the luscious recipes. Recommended for fans of Julie and Julia. ["Through rich description based on careful research, Kelby offers intriguing possibilities regarding the life of the great Escoffier and gives us a novel well worth reading," read the review of the Norton hc, LJ 8/11.-Ed.]-Terry Ann Lawler, Phoenix P.L. (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Question about returns, requests or other account details?
 Add a Comment
Submission Guidelines

Find this title in the Library Catalog
Find this title in the Library Catalog


more titles about

recent comments
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS