bookspacePhoto of readermy comments
 home > bookspace > my comments > comment: catch me [sound recording] /
Subscribe via RSS 
Catch me [sound recording]
Gardner, Lisa
Adult Fiction GARDNER

Comments  Summary  Reviews  Author Notes

From Publishers' Weekly:

The well-wrought suspense offsets the shaky plot of bestseller Gardner's sixth novel featuring Boston Sgt. Det. D.D. Warren (after 2011's Love You More). Charlene Rosalind Carter Grant, a 28-year-old police dispatch officer with a horrific childhood, expects to be murdered on January 21. One of her two best friends was strangled at home on January 21 two years earlier; exactly a year later, her other best friend suffered the same fate. On January 17, Grant seeks out Warren at a crime scene and asks the homicide detective to investigate her expected murder. Meanwhile, Warren is looking into the execution-style slayings of two pedophiles. Rookie sex crime detective Ellen O brings her expertise to this second case. Gardner skillfully tacks back and forth from Grant's childhood traumas to her preparations to face a killer as it becomes increasingly murky whether Grant is victim, predator, or both. Fans should enjoy the numerous cameos by characters from other Gardner novels. Author tour. Agent: Meg Ruley, Jane Rotrosen Agency. (Feb.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

From Library Journal:

D.D. Warren has returned from maternity leave and is back on the job just in time to investigate a crime spree in which the victims are also child predators. She's soon contacted by a young woman named Charlie Grant, who announces that she expects to be killed in several days and asks D.D. to investigate her murder. As D.D. copes with personal issues while working with her old team (plus a new face in Detective O) to piece together this crime puzzle, the two seemingly unconnected cases begin to show signs of overlapping. The clues all point in one direction, prompting D.D. to rethink and reevaluate the evidence in the race to put that final piece in place. Verdict New York Times best-selling author Gardner (Love You More; Live To Tell; Alone) always plays in the big leagues, but this scare-your-socks-off thriller is a grand slam, packed with enigmatic characters (some good, some crazily evil), expert procedural detail, and superb storytelling. Readers will be guessing who done it until the final pages-and the author's fans will love all the name-dropping from previous works. Fans of Michael Connelly and Harlan Coben will delight in Gardner's scare-fest.-Debbie Haupt, St. Charles City-Cty. P.L., St. Peters, MO (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Question about returns, requests or other account details?
 Add a Comment
Submission Guidelines

Find this title in the Library Catalog
Find this title in the Library Catalog


more titles about

recent comments
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS