home > events & classes > search results
   at Hopkins Library

 

Library Lab for Kids: Kaleidoscopes
Wednesday, July 30, 2–2:45 p.m.
Register Online or call 612-543-6400.
Entering grades 1-6. Build a unique and colorful kaleidoscope to take home. Have fun exploring reflection and symmetry with bendable mirrors. Materials provided. 
Presented in collaboration with The Works; Sponsored by the Friends of the Hennepin County Library and MELSA (Metropolitan Library Service Agency).
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend

Jumpstart Your Job Search: Drop-in Day
Friday, Aug. 8, 1–3 p.m.
Stop in for free, 15-minute, one-to-one job search assistance. Services may include résumé development, résumé review, career assessment, transferable skills assessment, job training options and career counseling. 
Presented in partnership with Employment Action Center.
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

Baby Storytime
Thursdays, Sept. 4–25, 9:30 a.m.
Registration required, begins Aug 7. Register online or call 612-543-6400.
For children from birth to 24 months and their parent or caregiver. Talk, sing, read, write and play together in a format designed especially for babies. Share books, stories, rhymes, music and movement. 
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

K-12 Homework Help
Monday, Sept. 8, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Sept. 10, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Monday, Sept. 15, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Sept. 17, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Monday, Sept. 22, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Sept. 24, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Monday, Sept. 29, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 1, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Monday, Oct. 6, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 8, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Monday, Oct. 13, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Monday, Oct. 20, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 22, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Monday, Oct. 27, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 29, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 5, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Monday, Nov. 10, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 12, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Monday, Nov. 17, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 19, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Monday, Nov. 24, 3:30–7:30 p.m.

Free in-person tutoring for K-12 students. No advance sign-up needed. 
Funded by the Friends of the Hennepin County Library.
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

Jumpstart Your Job Search: Drop-in Day
Friday, Sept. 12, 1–3 p.m.
Stop in for free, 15-minute, one-to-one job search assistance. Services may include résumé development, résumé review, career assessment, transferable skills assessment, job training options and career counseling. 
Presented in partnership with Employment Action Center.
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

Library Laboratory: Green Cleaning Products
Saturday, Sept. 13, 10–11:30 a.m.
Registration required, begins Aug 16. Register online or call 612-543-6400.
Learn to clean the natural way! Save money by making all-natural household cleaning products using non-toxic, everyday items. Learn about common ingredients in commercial products and their possible side effects, then make an all-purpose cleaner and a scrubbing cleanser. Materials provided. 
Presented in collaboration with Urban Relish.
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

Author Talk: Guthema Roba
Saturday, Sept. 27, 1 p.m.
Ethiopian poet and Golden Valley librarian Roba will read from his newest book of meditational poetry, “Wake Up and Roar.” He invites all to “come and drink from the sea of this love.” Roba leads a monthly poetry discussion group at the Golden Valley Library. Books will be available for purchase and signing.
Sponsored by Friends of the Hopkins Library.
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

Hopkins Early Childhood Fest
Saturday, Oct. 4, 10–11:30 a.m.
For families.
Join Mister Jim for a music show at 10:30 a.m. and receive a free book for kids (courtesy of Hopkins ECFE). 
Sponsored by Friends of the Hopkins Library; Presented in collaboration with Hopkins Early Childhood Family Education.
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

Family Storytime
Tuesdays, Oct. 7–28, 10:30 a.m.
For children of all ages and their parent or caregiver. Talk, sing, read, write and play together in a format appropriate for young children. Share books, stories, rhymes, music and movement. 
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

eBook Basics
Wednesday, Oct. 8, 10a.m. – noon
Registration required, begins Sep 10. Register online or call 612-543-6400.
Learn how to search for, select, download and use eBooks from the HCL website on your personal eReader device or computer. 
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

Jumpstart Your Job Search: Who am I, Where am I Going?
Friday, Oct. 10, 1–3 p.m.
Registration required, begins Sep 12. Register online or call 612-543-6400.
Get a better understanding of your current employability skill set. What are transferable skills and how can they improve your employability? Learn career assessment techniques and how the results can improve your job search options. 
Presented in partnership with Employment Action Center.
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS