home > events & classes > search results
   at Sumner Library

 

Writing Your Story
Thursdays, Sept. 4–Nov. 20, 4:30–6 p.m.
Sorry, this event has been cancelled.

Adult Homework Help
Thursday, Sept. 18, 4–7:45 p.m.
Friday, Sept. 19, 10 a.m. – noon
Monday, Sept. 22, 4–7:45 p.m.
Thursday, Sept. 25, 4–7:45 p.m.
Friday, Sept. 26, 10 a.m. – noon
Monday, Sept. 29, 4–7:45 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 2, 4–7:45 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 3, 10 a.m. – noon
Monday, Oct. 6, 4–7:45 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 9, 4–7:45 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 10, 10 a.m. – noon
Monday, Oct. 13, 4–7:45 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 16, 4–7:45 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 17, 10 a.m. – noon
Monday, Oct. 20, 4–7:45 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 23, 4–7:45 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 24, 10 a.m. – noon
Monday, Oct. 27, 4–7:45 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 30, 4–7:45 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 31, 10 a.m. – noon
Monday, Nov. 3, 4–7:45 p.m.
Thursday, Nov. 6, 4–7:45 p.m.
Friday, Nov. 7, 10 a.m. – noon
Monday, Nov. 10, 4–7:45 p.m.
Thursday, Nov. 13, 4–7:45 p.m.
Friday, Nov. 14, 10 a.m. – noon
Monday, Nov. 17, 4–7:45 p.m.
Thursday, Nov. 20, 4–7:45 p.m.
Friday, Nov. 21, 10 a.m. – noon
Monday, Nov. 24, 4–7:45 p.m.

Trained volunteer tutors will help adults with college homework assignments in any subject. Also open to adults working to improve their English, prepare for the GED, occupational, citizenship and driver’s exams. 
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend

K-12 Homework Help
Thursday, Sept. 18, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 20, 2–4:30 p.m.
Monday, Sept. 22, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Thursday, Sept. 25, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 27, 2–4:30 p.m.
Monday, Sept. 29, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 2, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 4, 2–4:30 p.m.
Monday, Oct. 6, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 9, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 11, 2–4:30 p.m.
Monday, Oct. 13, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 16, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 18, 2–4:30 p.m.
Monday, Oct. 20, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 23, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 25, 2–4:30 p.m.
Monday, Oct. 27, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 30, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 1, 2–4:30 p.m.
Monday, Nov. 3, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Thursday, Nov. 6, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 8, 2–4:30 p.m.
Monday, Nov. 10, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Thursday, Nov. 13, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 15, 2–4:30 p.m.
Monday, Nov. 17, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Thursday, Nov. 20, 3:30–7:30 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 22, 2–4:30 p.m.

Free in-person tutoring for K-12 students. No advance sign-up needed. 
Funded by the Friends of the Hennepin County Library.
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend

Adult Reading Circle
Thursdays, Sept. 4–Nov. 20, 5–6 p.m.
Join adults who want to improve their reading skills. Have fun reading and sharing with others. 
Presented in collaboration with Open Door Learning Center.
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend

Make This: Fashion Design
Thursday, Sept. 18, 3:30–5:30 p.m.
Register Online or call 612-543-6875.
Grades 7-12. Deconstruct, up-cycle and modify old clothing. Basic sewing, appliqué and surface design techniques that push the limits of ordinary fashion will be demonstrated. Bring along a few pieces of clothing that you aren't afraid to cut-up, color or fray. 
This project is funded with money from Minnesota's Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund.
Presented in collaboration with Minnetonka Center for the Arts.
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend

Paws to Read With an Animal
Thursday, Sept. 18, 5:30–7 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 16, 5:30–7 p.m.
Thursday, Nov. 13, 5:30–7 p.m.

For families. Volunteers will help put young readers at ease so they can cuddle up with a certified therapy animal and practice reading aloud. Most libraries host dogs and you can call ahead to see if other animals will be visiting. 
Presented in collaboration with North Star Therapy Animals.
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend

Childcare Group Storytime
Friday, Sept. 19, 10:30–11 a.m.
Wednesday, Sept. 24, 10:30–11 a.m.
Friday, Sept. 26, 10:30–11 a.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 1, 10:30–11 a.m.
Friday, Oct. 3, 10:30–11 a.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 8, 10:30–11 a.m.
Friday, Oct. 10, 10:30–11 a.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 15, 10:30–11 a.m.
Friday, Oct. 17, 10:30–11 a.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 22, 10:30–11 a.m.
Friday, Oct. 24, 10:30–11 a.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 29, 10:30–11 a.m.
Friday, Oct. 31, 10:30–11 a.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 5, 10:30–11 a.m.
Friday, Nov. 7, 10:30–11 a.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 12, 10:30–11 a.m.
Friday, Nov. 14, 10:30–11 a.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 19, 10:30–11 a.m.
Friday, Nov. 21, 10:30–11 a.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 26, 10:30–11 a.m.

Talk, sing, read, write and play together in a format appropriate for the children in your care. Share books, stories, rhymes, music and movement. 
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend

Conversation Circles
Fridays, Sept. 5–Nov. 21, 10:30 a.m.–noon p.m.
Non-native English speakers: practice your English and make new friends in an informal, volunteer-led setting, and learn about the library, too. Call 612-543-5669 for more information in English or, in Hmong, 612-543-8845; in Somali, 612-543-8756; in Spanish, 612-543-8510. 
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend

Author Talk: Guthema Roba
Saturday, Oct. 11, 7 p.m. 
Location: Homewood Studios, 2400 Plymouth Ave. N., Minneapolis
Register Online or call 612-543-6875.
Ethiopian poet and Golden Valley librarian Roba will read from his newest book of meditational poetry, “Wake Up and Roar.” He invites all to “come and drink from the sea of this love.” Roba leads a monthly poetry discussion group at the Golden Valley Library. Books will be available for purchase and signing.
Sponsored by Friends of the Sumner Library; Presented in collaboration with Homewood Studios.
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

First Pages for Kids: Writing Short Stories
Thursday, Oct. 16, 4–5:30 p.m.
Register Online or call 612-543-6875.
Grades 4-6.
Can you tell stories that keep your friends on the edge of their sleeping bags? Explore different ways to come up with story ideas, and then shape them into engaging, fun stories – complete with characters, plot and setting – that you can share with all your friends! 
This project is funded with money from Minnesota's Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund.
Presented in collaboration with The Loft Literary Center.
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

Genealogy Research: African American Families
Monday, Nov. 17, 6:30–7:30 p.m.
Registration required, begins Oct 20. Register online or call 612-543-6875.
Learn how to research your family's roots back to the Civil War using information from relatives, family records and basic genealogical resources such as census and vital records from Lois Mackin, director of the Minnesota Genealogical Society. 
This project is funded with money from Minnesota's Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund.
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS