Hennepin County Library Board Meeting Minutes
April 28, 2004

David Pratt, President called the meeting of Hennepin County Library Board Meeting of April 28, 2004 to order at 4:32 p.m. All members were present. Staff attending: J. Leick, Richard P. Johnson, V. DeFord, N. Perron, M. Gillespie, J. Morgan, D. Cramer, Dawn Currier, S. Charles, Marilyn Turner, Meg Canada, Ann Melrose, E. Feinberg, Judith Friedrich, M. Bell, Margaret Telfer, and Solveig Nilsen.

Peter Miller moved approval of the minutes, seconded by Patricia Izek and approved unanimously - 7 YEAS     APPROVED

Director Recruitment
Richard P. Johnson, Deputy County Administrator gave update on the Application Review Committee met on April 23rd and out of 18 applications, 10 were qualified. The committee selected 5-candidates to move on to the interview process. Contact has been made of all the candidates but won't disclose names until later. For your information, word was received from the State Department of Employee Relations regarding salary increase request and it was denied. All candidates have been informed of this fact.

Vicki DeFord addressed the dates of the scheduled interviews, May 20th and 21st, 2004. A list of proposed interview questions was distributed. Any changes or additions to questions would need to be submitted before May 20th.

Library Foundation Update
David Gradick, President was not able to attend, but speaking for the Library Foundation was Margaret Telfer. The Foundation formed an Emergency Committee to deal with the changes associated with the departure of the Executive Director. They are engaging a consultant, Margaret Hasse prior to hiring a new director. The following activities are scheduled for the Foundation:
  • Commissioner's Breakfast, May 25, 2004
  • Pen Pals, Joyce Carol Oats, May 19-20, 2004
  • Fundraising
eLibrary: 2004 Summer Fun Program
Marilyn Turner introduced Ann Melrose, Youth Services Librarian for the eLibrary. This will be the 4th summer for the Summer Fun Program. The target group of kids is kids in grades first through sixth grades. This year's theme is "Track it Down at Your Library". Ann demonstrated various pages on the KidLinks website .

Internet Public Use Policy
Janet Leick highlighted the changes to the Internet Public Use Policy with regard to the blocking technology on KidLinks as well as TeenLinks workstations throughout the Libraries. Julia Morgan also addressed issues to this policy. John Gibbs moved approval of the Internet Public Use Policy as presented, seconded by Dawn Harris and approved unanimously - 7 YEAS     APPROVED

Disorderly Conduct and Vandalism Policy
Julia Morgan reviewed changes within the policy. Cynthia Steinke moved approval, seconded by Peter Miller and approved unanimously - 7 YEAS     APPROVED

Strategic Planning Task Force Report
John Gibbs gave the final report of the Strategic Planning Task Force and directions which the committee foresee for Hennepin County Libraries. The committee asks that the 4-guideposts highlighted, be given consideration when the process begins to start developing the next 5-year Strategic Directions Plan. It was suggested that this report be communicated to Hennepin County Board of Commissioners. A letter will be drafted for approval.

Brookdale Library Grand Opening Events
Janet Leick highlighted two forthcoming events at the Brookdale Resource Library Opening:
- Thursday, May 6th at 5:00 p.m. Stakeholders Opening
- Saturday, May 8th at 11:00 a.m. Public Opening
Nancy Perron, Community Relations Manager came forth to request that the Library Board participate as a contributing sponsor to Library's Grand Opening Celebrations for the Brookdale Resource Library and Eden Prairie Resource Library openings. David Pratt moved to transfer dollars, $500 to each of the projects, seconded by Patricia Izek and approved unanimously - 7 YEAS     APPROVED

Construction Projects Update
Janet announced the opening date for the Eden Prairie Resource Library, August 14, 2004 @ 11:00 a.m., ribbon cutting; and August 12th for Stakeholders Opening at approximately 5:00 p.m.
Note: Since this announcement, the date for the Eden Prairie Opening has changed, the new opening date is Thursday August 12, 2004, 4:00 p.m. for VIP's, and 5:30 p.m. for public opening. Please mark your calendars accordingly.

Rogers Library renovation will begin on July 2, 2004

Election of Officers
David Pratt moved nomination of President, Cynthia Steinke; Vice President, Dawn Harris; and Secretary, Peter Miller, seconded by John Gibbs and approved unanimously - 7 YEAS     APPROVED

David Pratt moved approval of acceptance of gifts, seconded by Patricia Izek and approved unanimously - 7 YEAS     APPROVED

Oxboro Library Opening
Kudos' were given to the Oxboro Opening.

There being no further business the meeting of Hennepin County Library Board for April 28, 2004 was declared adjourned at 5:58 p.m.


Peter Miller, Secretary