OF JUNE 20, 2007

The Hennepin County Library Board met Wednesday, June 20, 2007 at the Edina Library.

Present: John Gibbs, David Pratt, Cynthia Steinke, Claudia Kelly and Therese VanBlarcom
Library Staff: Lois Langer Thompson, Sharon Charles, Judy Hohmann, Amy Ryan, Mary Kramer, Maureen Millea Smith, Michael McConnell, Ali Turner, David Cramer, Janet Mills, Jane Johnson, Ryan Paetznick, Dan Hinrichs, Glenn Peterson, Michele McGraw, Kim Battern, Sharon Hilts McGlinn, Jane Stein, Jody Wurl, Carolyn Muchow, Joann Frankena, Marilyn Turner, Bill Berg and Charlene Sohlberg
Guests: Hennepin County Commissioner Linda Koblick; Ann Voda and Gary Milne Rojek, Bentz/Thompson/Rietow
Public: Donna Scudder, Jean Kennedy, Pam Gagnon, Andy Otness, Jane Meller, Louise Price, Carol Goode and Diane Sannes

John Gibbs, President called the Hennepin County Library Board Meeting of June 20, 2007 to order at 5:00 p.m. and welcomed all attendees.

John Gibbs suggested changing the order of the agenda by moving "Board Member Reports" before "Adjournment." Approval of the revised agenda was moved by David Pratt which was seconded by Cynthia Steinke. Motion was approved.

Claudia Kelly moved approval of the minutes of the May 16, 2007 Library Board meeting, Mr. Pratt seconded the motion which was approved.

Diane Sannes, Brooklyn Center, requested a follow up to the information she received on May 31, 2007 after the May Library Board meeting. Ms. Sannes volunteered to e-mail more information about the Medtronic employee volunteer program to Library Board President, John Gibbs.

Mr. Gibbs thanked Jean Kennedy, President of the Friends of the Edina Library and her colleagues for their hospitality. Ms. Kennedy introduced several Friends and welcomed attendees. Mr. Gibbs also introduced Hennepin County Commissioner Linda Koblick who thanked Director Amy Ryan, Friends of the Library, the Library Foundation, the Library Board and staff for the great job they do to make Hennepin County Libraries so popular and welcoming to all Hennepin County residents.

Library Board Recognition. Hennepin County Commissioner Linda Koblick, Amy Ryan and Friends of the Edina Library joined the Library Board to recognize award winning Library staff:
  • Maureen Millea Smith for the 19th Annual Minnesota Book Award for her novel, "When Charlotte Comes Home";
  • Sharon Hilts McGlinn, Kim Battern, Michele McGraw, Jane Stein, Jody Wurl, Glenn Peterson, Ryan Paetznick, Marilyn Turner, Juli Bratvold and Toni Jelinek for the Public Technology Institute's Technology Solutions Award in the Web Services category for BookSpace: Improved Service to County Library Readers; and
  • Dan Hinrichs, Brian Pajari, Tom Bramwell and Toni Jelinek for an Honorable Mention in the Network category for Public Library Internet Access: More than Twice the Bandwidth for Lower Cost.
Plymouth Library Update. Mary Kramer, Capital Projects Coordinator provided background on the 2005 study of the Plymouth Library and the decision to build an expanded building and parking lot on the current site. Ms. Kramer introduced architect Ann Voda from Bentz/Thompson/Rietow who presented the approved schematic design for the new Plymouth Library.

DIRECTOR'S REPORT - Amy Ryan, Director
  • 2008 Operating Budget request. The Hennepin County process for all departments was reviewed. Ms. Ryan presented the Library's request, explained the priorities, and answered questions from the Library Board. Following the presentation and discussion, David Pratt moved approval of the request as presented to the Library Board and recommended the request move forward following the established guidelines, seconded by Therese VanBlarcom. The motion was approved.
  • 2008 Capital Budget request. The Hennepin County process for all departments was reviewed. Ms. Ryan presented the request and explained some of the specific projects (Brooklyn Park, Plymouth and Maple Grove library building programs, security improvements, and feasibility studies for Ridgedale technical services and the Excelsior Library). Ms. VanBlarcom moved approval of the request as presented to the Library Board and recommended the request move forward following the established guidelines, seconded by Cynthia Steinke. The motion was approved.
  • Merger Update. A bill allowing the two library systems to merge was passed by the Minnesota Legislature and signed by Governor Pawlenty. $4.5 million for transition funding to merge the systems into one consolidated library was passed by the legislature and vetoed by Governor Pawlenty. $3.8 million of the total was earmarked for Information Technology (IT) costs. Alternative sources for funding are being explored. Since the funding was not approved, one alternative being discussed for the IT transition cost is the possibility of phasing the changes in over three to four years. The remainder of the original request ($700,000) would be used for legal and real estate fees (title searches, assessments, phase one environmental property searches, etc.). A resolution may be introduced at an upcoming Hennepin County Board of Commissioners meeting that would allow staff to proceed with the necessary legal and real estate work with the cost of that work to be shared equally by the City of Minneapolis, Minneapolis Public Library and Hennepin County. Further updates will be provided at each Library Board meeting.
Ms. VanBlarcom met with County Attorney, Susan Segal and after further review of the questions and suggestions made by some members of the Library Board, no changes were recommended to the Bylaws of the Hennepin County Library Board. Ms. VanBlarcom acknowledged the need for further review if there is any prospect of merging the two systems resulting in enlarging membership from seven to eleven and a need to review and possibly revise term structures. Ms. VanBlarcom also recommended the Library Board President establish a nominating committee at the January Library Board meeting each year.

Mr. Pratt moved to accept the donations, seconded by Ms. VanBlarcom. Motion was approved.

Therese VanBlarcom: will attend the American Library Association conference in Washington, D.C.

There being no further business, the Library Board Meeting of June 20, 2007, was declared adjourned at 6:38 p.m. The next meeting is scheduled for Wed., July 25, 2007, 5 p.m. at the Ridgedale Library, 12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305.

Holly Guncheon, Secretary