Library Board Executive Committee
January 4, 2010

Meeting Summary
Library Board Members
Therese VanBlarcom, President
Claudia Kelly, Vice President
John Pacheco, Secretary
Brandi Brown
John Gibbs
Holly Guncheon
Sandy Johnson
Jill Joseph
Kathleen Lamb
David Pratt
Cynthia Steinke

Library Director
Lois Langer Thompson


Attendees:       Library Board members: President Therese VanBlarcom, Vice President Claudia Kelly, Secretary John Pacheco and past-President John Gibbs.  Staff: Director Lois Langer Thompson and Char Sohlberg


Welcome and Approvals

Vice President Kelly called the meeting to order at 4:40 p.m. John Pacheco made a motion to approve the agenda; seconded by John Gibbs. Motion passed. Ms. Kelly made a motion to approve the summary of the Oct. 12, 2009 Executive Committee meeting; seconded by John Gibbs. Motion passed.


Library Director Update

Lois Langer Thompson provided an update on the approved 2010 Operating Budget and uncertainties related to the State budget deficit; reported on her visits to 38 libraries; and announced the next major Library Board policy to be addressed will be the Collection Development policy; and she provided an overview of the HCL Strategic Planning process and requested input from committee members on how they would like to be involved in the process. If the Library Board decides to be involved with representatives on the Strategic Planning Steering Committee, two appointees are needed. Discussion followed on the role of the Library Board.


2010 Library Board Committee Structure

·   President VanBlarcom asked committee chairs to review their charges and meeting frequency. Initially plans were for committees to meet quarterly but most have occurred monthly (which should be examined).  Mr. Pacheco made several suggested changes to the committee structure charges after reviewing the Library Board Bylaws which will be incorporated into a draft for review at the Feb. 8, 2010 Executive Committee meeting.  Discussion followed with Mr. Pacheco noting the responsibility of the Library Board related to legislative action is not included but could be as an ad-hoc committee that meets annually.

·   The revised Bylaws of The Library Foundation of Hennepin County were reviewed in relation to membership from the Library Board. Ms. VanBlarcom will appoint a Library Board member to serve as an ex-officio (non-voting member) on the Foundation Board. 

·   After the County Board's 2010 organizational meeting is held and officers are in place, President VanBlarcom will meet with the County Board chair to see if there is interest in holding a joint County Board/Library Board meeting in 2010.


Strategic Plan for Library Board

The Feb. 8, 2010 Executive Committee meeting will include an outline from Mr. Pacheco to propose a Library Board strategic planning process to define the role of the Library Board.  Discussion followed.


January 13, 2010 Library Board Agenda

Agenda was set by the Executive Committee.



Claudia Kelly made a motion to adjourn the committee meeting at 6:10 p.m.; which was seconded by John Pacheco.  Motion passed.


Updates/Next Steps

     Draft meeting summary and 2010 Committee Structure will be forwarded to members to be approved at Feb. 8, 2010 meeting.

     February committee meeting agenda topics: Library Strategic Plan; revised committee structure chart; Mr. Pacheco-Library Board Strategic Plan; set Feb. 24, 2010 Library Board agenda.

     Next meeting: Mon., Feb. 8, 2009 at HCL Administrative Offices, Director's Conference Room, Ridgedale Library in Minnetonka, 4:30-6 p.m.



Approved Feb. 17, 2010