Library Board Program Policy Committee
February 13, 2009

Meeting Summary
Library Board Members
Patricia Izek, President
Therese VanBlarcom, Vice President
John Pacheco, Secretary
John Gibbs
Holly Guncheon
Roger Hale
Jill Joseph
Claudia Kelly
Kathleen Lamb
David Pratt
Cynthia Steinke

Interim Library Director
Lois Langer Thompson


Attendees:          Library Board members Chair Cynthia Steinke, Holly Guncheon, Claudia Kelly and David Pratt; staff Judith Friedrich and Char Sohlberg


Committee Structure Review

Cynthia Steinke reviewed the committee structure and discussion followed regarding policy needs and the link the policies have to library programs and services.


2009 Committee Priorities

Priorities were identified with work to begin on three Library Board policies:  Meeting Room/Facility Use, Customer Use of Libraries/Rules of Conduct, and Internet Public Use Policy.  Notebooks will be established for committee members to review existing Hennepin County Library Board policies and related policies used prior to the Dec. 2008 library consolidation. 


2009 Meeting Dates and Locations

Dates were scheduled in the Director's Conference Room, Ridgedale Administrative Offices and will be publicly noticed.  Committee members agreed future meetings would be canceled if more than one committee member is unable to attend.


Date                 Time                       

Fri., 3/13           1:30-3:30 p.m.                                                                                                                

Wed., 4/15        1:30-3:30 p.m.

Fri., 5/22           1-3 p.m.

Fri., 6/19           1-3 p.m.

Fri., 7/17           1:30-3:30 p.m.

Fri., 8/21           1-3 p.m.

Fri., 9/18           1-3 p.m.

Fri., 10/16         1-3 p.m.

Fri., 11/20         1-3 p.m.



Action Items

·         Draft meeting summary for Program/Policy Committee approval

·         Compile notebooks with Hennepin County Library Policies along with corresponding former Minneapolis Public Library Board policies to be distributed to Committee members

·         Confirm meeting room bookings for remainder of Committee meetings scheduled in 2009 and e-mail list to committee members

·         Committee will review Bylaws on Library Board Committees





Char Sohlberg

Approved by Committee 3/13/09