Skip Navigation
Library Catalog Internet Search Birth to Six - Books, reading tips and storytimes for young children KidLinks - Book reviews, homework help, and websites for kids TeenLinks - Homework help, book reviews, and websites for teens WorldLinks Job & CareerLinks Contact Us
Reference and Research BookSpace Support the Library Library Information Events and Classes My Account
home > reference & research > Databases

Databases       A-E     F-M     N-Z
 ABI/INFORM Complete
Find articles on business, finance, and management topics from regional, U.S. and international publications.  Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Academic Search Premier
Full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Updated daily. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

 Advertising Red Books
Detailed information about 14,500 domestic and international advertising agencies and profiles of 19,000 advertisers. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 African American Song
50,000 tracks by the top names in the history of black American music. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

Available on Library workstations only ALLDATA Automotive Diagnostic and Repair Information
The world's most comprehensive resource for automotive diagnostic and repair information. Available only on library workstations. Details
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.

 Alt HealthWatch
Full text articles from over 180 international journals on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Alternative Press Index
Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Updated quarterly. Archive available covering 1969-1990. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Amazing Animals of the World
Information on animals from aardvarks to zebras, including color photos and games. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 American Indian Experience
Primary documents, including treaties, speeches, traditional tales, maps and photos. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 American Periodicals Series Online, 1740–1900
Digitized images from over 1100 magazines and journals spanning nearly 200 years. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 American Song
Listen to over 12,000 tracks of American roots music and pre-1960 American popular music. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

Available on Library workstations only Ancestry Library Edition
Provides a wide range of information of interest to genealogists including U.S. Federal Census records, passenger lists, birth, death, marriage and military records, family and local history collections and more. Available only on library workstations. Details
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.

 ArchiveGrid
Online access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

 Art Full Text
Full text articles from nearly 200 journals going back to 1997. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Art Retrospective
Indexes 55 years (1929-1984) of art journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Associations Unlimited
Information about over 444,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Biography & Genealogy Master Index
Index to nearly 12 million biographical sketches in more than 2700 reference books. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Biography Resource Center
Information on more than one million people from throughout history. Details
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.

 Biology Digest
Detailed abstracts from over 185 sources, written in a non-technical style for students and nonscientists, 1989 to present. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Birds of North America Online
Comprehensive life histories, including maps, image & video galleries, and audio recordings of birds' songs and calls. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Books in Print
Search over 3.4 million books, audios and videos currently available or soon to be released. Includes a directory of publishers and full-text reviews. For additional searching features try Books in Print Professional. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Business & Company Resource Center
In-depth company information and extensive access to business magazines & industry surveys. Details
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.

 Business Source Premier
Full text for nearly 7,400 scholarly business journals across all subject areas. Includes detailed company profiles and country economic reports. For quick access to detailed company and industry profiles, country economic reports, and market research reports try the Enhanced Business Searching Interface. Updated daily. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

 CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)
Over 23,000 images of works of art representing a broad range of fine and decorative arts from well-known collections including the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Art Institute of Chicago and the Minneapolis Institute of Art. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

 Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Find print and electronic publications from all branches of the U.S. Government. Details
Funded by the United States Government Printing Office.

 Classical Music Library
Listen to over 35,000 classical music performances, plus other genres including folk, musicals, soundtracks, opera, and world music. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

Available on Library workstations only Classical Scores Library
More than 200,000 pages of classical scores spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Includes both in-copyright and public domain editions. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 CollegeSource
Full text of over 15,000 college catalogs, including 2-year, 4-year, graduate and professional schools. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Columbia Gazetteer of the World
Names, descriptions, and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Columbia Granger's World of Poetry
Full-text of widely read poems, including commentaries and biographies. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Consumer Health Complete
Covers all areas of health and wellness. Includes full-text magazine articles, diagrams, videos, pamphlets, and narrated animations. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

Available on Library workstations only Consumers' Checkbook
Consumer ratings of Twin Cities service firms and stores plus buying advice. Consumers' Checkbook is only available on library workstations. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Contemporary Authors
Complete biographical and bibliographic information on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors. Details
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.

 Contemporary World Music
Listen to sounds from all regions of every continent. Explore by region or by style of music. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Corporate Affiliations
Business profiles and corporate linkage ("who owns whom") for approximately 184,000 public and private companies worldwide. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 CQ Researcher
Reports address the most current and controversial issues of the day with detailed discussions of the various sides of the issues, summaries, bibliographies and links to related stories. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 CQ Weekly
Comprehensive coverage of the week in Congress including bill status, vote reports, and updates on all committees. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 CultureGrams
Covers people, land, customs, lifestyle, and recipes. Includes U.S. states. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 D&B Million Dollar Directory
Comprehensive marketing information on 14 million public and private U.S. and Canadian companies. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Dance in Video
250 dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Discovering Collection
Use this comprehensive database to retrieve in-depth reference content for the core curriculum areas of Literature, History, Biographies, Science, and Social Studies. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

Available on Library workstations only Duluth News-Tribune
Full text of articles from the newspaper, 1995-present. Available only on library workstations. Details
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.

 EBSCO MegaFILE
Search mulitple collections of magazine articles, reference books, and images at one time. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

 Educator's Reference Complete
More than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Included content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

 Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos
Una enciclopedia de conocimientos generales, para los grados primarios y secundarios. Contiene información sobre gente, lugares, objetos, acontecimientos e ideas. Aprovecha esta enciclopedia para investigar y divertirte. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Encylopædia Britannica Online
An in-depth encyclopedia of information covering a wide variety of topics and people. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

 ERIC
Guide to journal articles, books, theses, and conference papers on thousands of educational topics. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

 Expanded Academic ASAP
Find articles from scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers across all academic disciplines. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

 FACTS.com
Search fulltext news (weekly updates) from Facts on File World News Digest back to 1974, plus wire service updates, biographies, maps, photos and primary source documents. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
Career information, with job and industry profiles, career forecasting, videos, and job-searching skills assistance. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

Available on Library workstations only Foundation Directory Online Professional
Searchable database covering over 76,600 U.S. foundations and corporate giving programs. Accessible only at Central Library, 4th floor -- please ask staff for assistance. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

Available on Library workstations only Foundation Grants to Individuals Online
Searchable database of more than 6,500 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers. Accessible only at Central Library, 4th floor -- please ask staff for assistance. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Fugitive Fact File
Locate hard-to-find information uncovered for you by Hennepin County librarians. Details
Developed and maintained by Hennepin County Library staff.

 Gale Directory Library
Use this for online access to Brands and Their Companies and American Wholesalers and Distributors directories. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Gale Virtual Reference Library
Full-text content for dozens of in-depth reference books, including legal materials, business plans, social sciences, and lots for students. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Gale's Ready Reference Shelf
Directory information on more than 300,000 organizations, publications and databases. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 General Reference Center Gold
Full text access to 3,033 general interest and business magazines back to 1980. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 General Science Collection
Search more than 200 scientific journals for articles on physics, mathematics, nanotechnology, geology, chemistry, and biology. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

 Grolier Online
Search all of HCL's Grolier databases simultaneously or individually from this aggregated site. Includes Lands and Peoples, New Book of Popular Science and Amazing Animals of the World. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Health & Wellness Resource Center
Magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on health and wellness topics. The material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only. Details
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.

 Health Source: Consumer Edition
Full-text articles from 80 consumer health magazines, health-related pamphlets and more than 130 reference books. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

 Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage back to 1975. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

 HeritageQuest
Search US Federal census records from 1790-1930, family and local history books, and genealogical and local history publications. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Historical Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1922)
Searchable full page images from the Minneapolis Morning Tribune. Details
Subscription purchased with funds provided to Minnesota State Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services Technology Act (LSTA) through the Institute of Museums and Library Services.

 Historical New York Times, 1851–2005
Searchable full text back to the first issue. Includes digital reproductions of every page from every available issue. Details
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.

 Historical Statistics of the United States
Quantitative information covering every aspect of American history from the earliest times to the present. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 History Resource Center: U.S.
Primary documents, secondary sources, and journal articles covering all areas of U.S. history. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 History Resource Center: World
Broad coverage in all regions of the world from the ancient Mediterranean era through the 20th century. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Hoover's Company Records
Profiles of more than 40,000 companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Informe!
El texto completo de 50 de los más populares periódicos y diarios de habla hispana y bilingües, incluyendo el periódico en español El Nuevo Herald (Miami, FL). Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

 InfoTrac Kids
Full text articles from magazines, newspapers, and reference books. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

 Infotrac Student
Full text articles from magazines, newspapers, and reference books. Historical images and maps included. 1985 to present. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

 Issues and Controversies @FACTS.com
Up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Jazz Music Library
Thousands of recordings of the works of the greatest jazz musicians ranging from past greats like Bix Beiderbecke and Miles Davis to those recording today. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 JSTOR
Full text of over 4.4 million academic journal articles across multiple disciplines. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Junior Reference Collection
Information from books about people, places, history, science and more. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

 Kids InfoBits
Information from magazines, newspapers, and reference books. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

 Lands & Peoples
Information about people, geography, economy, language, culture, and history. Lands & Peoples books online. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 LearningExpressLibrary
Practice taking tests online, including SAT, ACT, TOEFL, adult basic skills, civil service, law enforcement, military, EMS, postal services, firefighter, and U.S. citizenship. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Legal Forms from Thomson Gale
Officially approved forms covering bankruptcy, bill of sale, contracts, divorce, employment, incorporation, landlord/tenant, living wills, name change, power of attorney, real estate, taxes and wills. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 LexisNexis Congressional
Comprehensive indexing and abstracting of the publications of the U.S. Congress. Coverage from 1789 to the present. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Library Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Indexes more than 600 periodicals in the fields of librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval & information management. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

 Literature Resource Center
Biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of more than 120,000 authors. Details
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.

 LitFinder
Full-text poems, short stories, essays, speeches and plays with summaries, biographies and photographs. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 MasterFILE Premier
Full text for more than 2,000 general interest magazines dating as far back as 1975. Includes reference books, book reviews, biographies, primary source documents, and images. Updated daily. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

 MEDLINE
Collection of over 13 million references to journal articles on health topics going as far back as the 1960's. The MEDLINE family of databases is provided via PubMed from the National Library of Medicine, the world's largest medical library. Details
Funded by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.

 Mergent Online
Detailed financial information on publicly held companies. To access the Mergent Manual archives (1905-2007), go to Mergent WebReports. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Milestone Documents in American History
Full-text primary documents with analysis, related images and timelines. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

Available on Library workstations only Minnesota Career Information System – MCIS
Comprehensive career information including occupation descriptions, industry overviews, post-secondary schools information, financial aid information, & job search skills. Available only on library workstations. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

Available on Library workstations only Minnesota Grantmakers Online
Searchable database of Minnesota grantmakers and grants. Accessible only at Central Library, 4th floor -- please ask staff for assistance. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 MnLink – Minnesota Library Information Network
Search for materials at public and academic libraries across the state of Minnesota. Details
Funded by the State of Minnesota.

 Morningstar Investment Research Center
Financial data on more than 30,000 stocks, mutual funds, and ETFs, and buy/sell guidance on more than 1,900 stocks and 2,100 mutual funds. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Music in Print
Locate music scores and sheet music in print. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Music Index Online
Index (no full text) to articles in over 850 music periodicals covering every aspect of the classical and popular world of music. Coverage is from 1974 to the present. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Music Online
Find streaming audio, video, reference, and musical scores in a single search. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

Available on Library workstations only National Climate Data Center
Official, authoritative weather records at the local, state and national levels, for both current and historical time periods. Accessible only at Central Library, 2nd floor -- please ask staff for assistance. Details
Funded by the Federal Depository Library Program.

 NetLibrary
Full text of over 10,000 books plus 1200+ audio ebooks. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network. Additional funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 New Book of Popular Science
Homework help with animals, astronomy, chemistry, math, plants, technology and more. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 NewspaperDirect Press Display
Browse and read over 700 U.S. and international newspapers. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 NoveList K-8 Plus
Locate age-appropriate fiction and nonfiction reading materials for children. Details
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.

 NoveList Plus
Search hundreds of thousands of popular fiction and nonfiction titles. Find author read-alikes, book lists, book discussion guides, and more Details
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.

 OAISTer
Locate multidisciplinary digital resources from open archive collections. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

Available on Library workstations only One More Story
Choose a picture book online and listen to wonderful children's stories. Especially for children ages 2-6. One More Story is only available on library workstations. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Opera in Video
Performances of 250 of the most important operas representing the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses, in streaming video. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
A dynamic online library of current event topics--the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Overdrive Digital Library
Audio eBooks, videos, and classical music that can be downloaded to your personal computer and supported listening device. Currently available to library cardholders registered in the suburban catalog. Details
Purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes. Additional funding from the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.

 Oxford Art Online
Classic art reference includes 41,000 articles and 750 maps, diagrams and line drawings, 5,000 links to color images. (formerly Grove Art Online) Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Oxford English Dictionary Online
Find the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Oxford Music Online
Comprehensive dictionary and encyclopedia for all types of music. Includes biographies of composers and performers, histories of musical instruments, descriptions of musical styles, terms and genres, etc. (formerly Grove Music Online) Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Play Index
Search over 30,000 plays written from Antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Points of View Reference Center
Essays on controversial topics that present multiple sides of 250 current issues from stem cell research to standardized testing. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

 PowerSearch (Gale databases)
Search across multiple Gale collections of periodical and reference content. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Professional Collection
Full text for 300 education journals across a variety of fields such as child and adolescent psychology, drug and alcohol abuse, learning disabilities, sports/athletic training etc. Updated daily. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

 Professional Development Collection
A specialized collection of about 550 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles of interest to educators. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

 ProQuest Discovery
Full-text articles from over 2200 magazines covering the arts, business, education, health, literature, politics and general interest, from 1972 to the present. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 ProQuest Newsstand
Full-text articles from major national and regional newspapers, including the Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Barron's and the Star Tribune. Coverage varies by title. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

 PsycFIRST
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations and reports on psychology and related fields. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Readers' Guide Full Text
Indexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published in North America, plus full text for selected periodicals back to 1994. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Readers' Guide Retrospective
Comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States from 1890 to 1982. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 ReferenceUSA
Directory of 14 million U.S. businesses. Also includes U.S. white page listings, new businesses, and Canadian businesses. Details
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues and from Hennepin County property taxes

 Regional Business News
Full text for 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from metropolitan and rural areas across the U.S. Updated daily. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

 Salem Health
Up-to-date info on diseases (especially cancer), anatomy, mental health, prevention, and treatment. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Sams Photofact Online
Find schematics and repair information on electronic products for models from 1946 to the present. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Sanborn Digital Maps (Minnesota)
View Sanborn fire insurance maps for Minnesota counties and cities. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Science Reference Center
Easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content including science encyclopedias, reference books, and periodicals. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

 Science Resource Center
In-depth information on wide number of science topics. Includes magazine and newspaper articles. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Short Story Index
Locate more than 96,000 stories—plus the full text of more than 4,000 stories. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Small Business Resource Center
Market research and more for small business owners. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Music from every part of the world, every ethnic group, and on any instrument imaginable, from Appalachian music featuring the washboard to vocal music from Oceania. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Spanish Books in Print with Reviews
Identifies and describes in print, forthcoming, audio, video and out-of-print Spanish-language titles. Includes detailed publisher information, author links, and additional links to Spanish language resources. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 St. Cloud Times
Full text of articles from the St. Cloud Times newspaper, 2005-present. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

Available on Library workstations only St. Paul Pioneer Press
Full text of articles from the newspaper, 1988 to present. Available only on library workstations. Details
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.

 Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Eleven of Standard & Poor's most popular investor information products. Details
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.

 StarTribune
Full text of articles from the newspaper, 1986 to present. See also Historical Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1922). Details
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.

 Statesman's Yearbook
Country information includes politics, population, economics, education, legal systems and more. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

Available on Library workstations only STAT-USA
Current and historical export and import data on more than 18,000 export commodities and 24,000 import commodities worldwide. Accessible only at Central Library, 2nd floor -- please ask staff for assistance. Details
Funded by the Federal Depository Library Program.

 Student Resource Center
Covers biography, literature, history, and science. Includes primary documents. Search by Lexile scores in Advanced Search. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Tell Me More
Comprehensive language instruction in English, French, German, Spanish, Latin American Spanish, Italian, and Dutch. Requires IE 5.0 or above and Microsoft Windows. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Theatre in Video
Contains performances of more than 250 of the world’s most important plays, together with more than 100 video documentaries, online in streaming video. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Today's Science @FACTS.com
Science news including hot topics, basic facts, biographies of scientists, and a glossary. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Tumblebook Library
Click on Story Books to listen to children's books. Includes picture books and chapter books. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Tumblebook Library (Spanish)
Buscar Libros de Cuentos. Escuchar a los libros en español. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Ulrich's On The Web
Authoritative information about more than 300,000 magazines, journals, newspapers and other serials from around the world. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

Available on Library workstations only USA Trade Online
U.S. economic and financial data, international trade statistics, and market research reports. Accessible only at Central Library, 2nd floor -- please ask staff for assistance. Details
Funded by the Federal Depository Library Program.

 Value Line
Comprehensive source of information and advice on 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

Available on Library workstations only Westlaw
Available at the Brookdale, Ridgedale, and Southdale Resource Libraries. Free access to Westlaw, focused on the Minnesota legal community. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County Law Library and Hennepin County property taxes.

 Wildlife and Plants of the World
Find maps showing natural habitat and range, plus color photos and easy-to-read facts. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Wilson OmniFile Select
Full text articles in science, humanities, education and business. Coverage from 1994 to present. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 World Book Online
All articles from the print World Book encyclopedia plus links to approved websites. Updated monthly. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 World Book Online (Student)
All articles from the print World Book encyclopedia plus links to approved websites. Updated monthly. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 WorldCat
Catalog of books and other materials held in libraries worldwide. Updated daily. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.



ELM resources are licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations to the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.

© Hennepin County Library
We welcome your comments and suggestions.
 
LIBRARIAN BLOG
Looking for Recipes for Leftovers?
The Minnesota Turkey Growers Association website has links to recipes, plus tips on purchasing, prepping, thawing, boning, and cooking a turkey....
read more...   (0 comments)
H1N1 Influenza Updates
POWER SEARCH (what's this?)
POPULAR DATABASES
• NetLibrary
• ReferenceUSA
• D&B Million Dollar Directory
• ProQuest Discovery
• HeritageQuest
• WorldCat
• Tumblebook Library
• Academic Search Premier
• Value Line
• BrainFuse
  MORE INFORMATION
 
Databases vs. Websites
Citing Electronic Resources
About Subject Guides
Connecting to Databases