home > reference & research > databases n - z

Databases       A-E     F-M     N-Z
 
National Climate Data Center
Official, authoritative weather records at the local, state and national levels, for both current and historical time periods. more info.
Funded by the Federal Depository Library Program.
National Geographic Magazine
Search the complete archive of National Geographic magazine along with a collection of books, maps, images and videos. Archive includes 1888-Current. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
New Book of Knowledge
General knowledge encyclopedic database for elementary and middle school students. Search by keyword or browse the collection alphabetically or by subject. Includes world history timelines, projects and experiments and homework help tips on research, studying and writing. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
New Book of Popular Science
News, science projects, biographies, and games covering a broad range of science categories. For grades 5-12. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
NewspaperDirect Press Display
Browse the pages of individual newspapers or search a topic in numerous U.S. and international papers. Article backfile is approximately 60 days. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Nonfiction Connection
Reviews, excerpts, award winners, summaries. Searchable by topic, category, time frame. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
NoveList K-8 Plus
Locate age-appropriate fiction and nonfiction reading materials for children and teens. Includes discussion guides, reviews and articles. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
NoveList Plus
Search for descriptions of fiction and nonfiction titles. Find author read-alikes, book lists, book discussion guides, and reviews. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
OAISTer
Locate digital resources from open archive collections. Contents include digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, movies, and datasets. Collections include theses, technical reports, research papers, and image collections. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
OmniFile Select
A multidisciplinary, full-text database providing articles from the following Wilson periodical databases: Art Full Text, Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Index to Legal Periodicals and Books, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
One More Story
Choose a picture book online and listen to wonderful children's stories. Especially for children ages 2-6. One More Story is only available on library workstations. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
OneClickdigital
Downloadable audiobooks unique from the OverDrive Digital Library collection. Works best using free OneClickdigital Media Manager software available for Windows, Mac, and iOS. Available to Hennepin County residents with a valid library card. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Opera in Video
Opera performances captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses. Streaming available for mobile devices. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Social issues covered by pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies, court-case overviews, periodical articles, statistical tables, charts and graphs, images, and podcasts. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Optimal Résumé
Create and save resumes and cover letters. Includes job search tools such as practice interviews and skills assessment. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
OverDrive Digital Library
Check out and download books, audiobooks, videos, and music. Available to Hennepin County residents and property owners with a valid library card. more info.
Purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes. Additional funding from the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
OverDrive Digital Library (Audiobooks)
Check out and download audiobooks. Available to Hennepin County residents and property owners with a valid library card. more info.
Purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes. Additional funding from the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
OverDrive Digital Library (eBooks)
Check out and download eBooks. Available to Hennepin County residents and property owners with a valid library card. more info.
Purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes. Additional funding from the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
OverDrive Digital Library (Music)
Check out and download music. Available to Hennepin County residents and property owners with a valid library card. more info.
Purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes. Additional funding from the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
OverDrive Digital Library (Video)
Check out and download films, cartoons, and more. Available to Hennepin County residents and property owners with a valid library card. more info.
Purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes. Additional funding from the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Oxford Art Online
Classic art reference offering articles, maps, line drawings, and links to images. Includes images of signatures, historical auction records, and lists of museum holdings. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Oxford English Dictionary Online
Find the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Oxford Music Online
Biographies of composers, performers, conductors. Includes rock, pop, and jazz artists through history. Covers instruments, notation, forms, styles, individual works, timelines, dictionary. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Philanthropy In/Sight
The Foundation Center’s interactive mapping tool creates images revealing patterns of giving combined with demographic data. Accessible only at the Central Library, 4th floor -- please ask staff for assistance. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Play Index
Indexes plays written from Antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present. Covers plays written in or translated into English, including mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama. Searchable by title, author, subject, culture, style, genre, and cast type. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Points of View Reference Center
Essays on controversial topics that present multiple sides of a current issue. Offers questions and materials for further thought. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
PowerSearch (Gale databases)
Search across multiple Gale collections of periodical and reference content. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Professional Collection
Provides a custom selection of many full-text journals for professional educators covering teaching the humanities, social sciences, science and technology, as well as child development, substance abuse, health, learning disabilites, teaching literature, education law and sports training. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Professional Development Collection
Full-text education journals and teachers editions. Includes librarianship, counseling, computers, and psychology. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
ProQuest
Search multiple magazine and newspaper resources, in addition to business databases. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
ProQuest Congressional
U.S. Congress publications indexed and abstracted. Coverage back to 1789. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
ProQuest Digital Microfilm
Digitized images from Barron's, The New York Times, The StarTribune, St. Paul Pioneer Press, USA Today, and the Wall Street Journal in their original full-image, including photos, graphs, and tables. Coverage is January 1, 2008 – present, with a 2-3 month lag. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
ProQuest Newsstand
Full-text articles from major national and regional newspapers, including the Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, and the Star Tribune. Coverage varies by title. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
PubMed
PubMed includes over 20 million citations from MEDLINE in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Free full text is available for many articles. more info.
Funded by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.
PubWEST
Full-text U.S. patents for 1920 to the present, as well as foreign patents from 32 countries, and Japanese and European patent abstracts. Accessible only at the Central Library, 2nd floor -- please ask staff for assistance. more info.
Funding provided by the Patent and Trademark Depository Library Program.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Indexes general-interest periodicals published U.S. From 1890-1982. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
RedBooks
Profiles domestic and international advertising agencies and advertisers. Indexes brand names. Offers advertising industry data. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
ReferenceUSA
Business, consumer, residential research. U.S. white page listings, new businesses, Canadian businesses. Consumers/Lifestyles database offers market resarch information. Use Advanced Search for detailed categories. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues and from Hennepin County property taxes
Regional Business News
Full-text coverage for regional business publications covering metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Rochester Post-Bulletin
Coverage is about 15 months behind. The Post-Bulletin provides Rochester and southeast Minnesota with state and regional news and sports information. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Salem History
Contents include primary sources, biographical resources, and information about U.S. and world history. Sources include Milestone Documents, The Decades, Great Lives from History, Great Events from History, Historical Encyclopedia of American Business, Musicians and Composers, Great Athletes, Weapons & Warfare, and American Immigration. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Salem Literature
Using the Magill's Literary Annual series, covers fiction and nonfiction. Includes classic and current criticism, original analysis, biographical information, photographs. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Sams Photofact Online
Find schematics and repair information on electronic products for models from 1946 to the present. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Sanborn Digital Maps (Minnesota)
View Sanborn fire insurance maps for Minnesota counties and cities. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Science In Context
Includes overviews, biographies, periodical articles, images and videos, and detailed experiments on popular science topics. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Science Reference Center
Contains full-text for science encyclopedias, reference books, and periodicals. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Searchasaurus
Search for encyclopedia and magazine articles about your favorite topic. Includes images and a dictionary. For kids in grades K-5. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Short Story Index
Indexes all the important collections and anthologies of short stories published each year. All literary genres are covered. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Small Business Resource Center
Articles from reference books and periodicals cover all major areas of starting, operating and maintaining a business from financing, management, marketing, accounting, taxes and more. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Listen to and create playlists of world music traditions. Liner notes available in PDF. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Social Explorer
Create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change. Current and historical US Census, from 1790 to 2000, plus the first 2010 census data release. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Something about the Author
Articles and images detailing the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
St. Cloud Times
Full-text news articles, 2002-present. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
St. Paul Pioneer Press
Full-text articles, 1988 to present. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Provides access to corporation records, executive & director biographies, news & commentary. Information covers the stock market, economy, equities, bonds, funds, and industries. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
StarTribune
Full text of articles from the newspaper, 1986 to present. See also Historical Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1922) and ProQuest Digital Microfilm. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Statesman's Yearbook
Covers history, politics, economics, trade and infrastructure for each country. Offers chronologies, information about international organizations and an archive of yearbooks back to the 1860's. Includes reading lists and web links for further research. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Student Resources in Context
Subjects include biography, literature, history, science, and multiculturalism. Includes full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary documents, topical essays, biographies, critical analyses, timelines, photos and maps. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Tell Me More
Self-paced language tutor. Offers conversational and business language learning, speech recognition, optional placement assessment test. Languages include English, French, German, Spanish, Latin American Spanish, Italian, and Dutch. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Theatre in Video
Offers streaming video of the world's leading plays and theater-related documentaries. Allows bookmarking and sharing. Content goes back to 1937. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Transparent Language Online (formerly Byki)
Quickly learn words and phrases in over 70 languages. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
TrueFlix
Investigate people, places, history as well as science and nature by reading books and articles, watching videos, doing projects, playing games, and exploring related websites. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
TumbleBook Library
Animated, talking picture books. Kindergarten - Gr. 5. Highlighted text. Some titles in Spanish and French. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
TumbleBook Library (Spanish)
Los TumbleBooks son libros animados, con ilustraciones que hablan, para enseñar a los niños los placeres de la lectura en un formato que les encantará. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
U.S. History In Context
Primary documents, secondary sources, and journal articles covering all areas of U.S. history. Formerly titled History Resource Center: U.S. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Resource
Published U.S. patent application and U.S. patents 1790-present. Full-text U.S. patents for 1920 to the present, as well as foreign patents from 32 countries, and Japanese and European patent abstracts. Includes advanced searching functions. Accessible only at the Central Library, 2nd floor -- please ask staff for assistance. more info.
Funding provided by the Patent and Trademark Depository Library Program.
Ulrich's On The Web
Detailed information on periodicals of all types, including academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and zines. Content includes ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
USA Trade Online
U.S. economic and financial data, international trade statistics, and market research reports. Accessible only at Central Library, 2nd floor -- please ask staff for assistance. more info.
Funded by the Federal Depository Library Program.
Value Line
Financial data reporting, analysis, securities ranking systems. Access up to five years of technical history. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Westlaw
Offers free access to state and federal cases, headnotes, statutes, court orders, court rules, and administrative decisions. Available at the Brookdale, Ridgedale, and Southdale Resource Libraries. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County Law Library and Hennepin County property taxes.
WestlawNext
Offers free access to state and federal cases, headnotes, statutes, court orders, court rules, and administrative decisions. Available at the Brookdale, Ridgedale, and Southdale Resource Libraries. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
World Book Kids
Find encyclopedia articles, research important people, get pictures, maps, sound and videos. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
World Book Online
In addition to the well-known encyclopedia, offers headline news explored in depth, primary sources, pathfinders, atlases and images and a dictionary. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
World Book Online (Student)
Contains encyclopedia entries, biographies, news articles, video, images, sounds and atlases for the student researcher. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
World History In Context
Broad coverage moving chronologically from antiquity to the present and geographically around the globe. Content includes primary sources, reference books, periodicals, maps, atlases and images. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
World News Collection
Collection of news resources from over 50 countries from newspapers, blogs, journals, magazines, news wires, transcripts, and web-only sources. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
WorldCat
A catalog of material held in libraries worldwide. A good source for identifying items for interlibrary loan requests. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Zinio
Choose from a varied collection of magazines that can be read on any Internet-enabled device. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.


ELM resources are licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations to the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.

hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS