Skip Navigation
Library Catalog Internet Search Birth to Six - Books, reading tips and storytimes for young children KidLinks - Book reviews, homework help, and websites for kids TeenLinks - Homework help, book reviews, and websites for teens WorldLinks Job & CareerLinks Contact Us
Reference and Research BookSpace Support the Library Library Information Events and Classes My Account
home > reference & research > social issues
Sub-Topics
Abortion
Addiction & Recovery
Civil Liberties
Criminal Justice
General Sites
Human Rights
 
Media
Poverty, Hunger & Homelessness
Science Issues
Social Service & Social Action
Youth & Families

Top Databases  Show all
 
Top Websites  Show all
 
 Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
A dynamic online library of current event topics--the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Issues and Controversies @FACTS.com
Up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 CQ Researcher
Reports address the most current and controversial issues of the day with detailed discussions of the various sides of the issues, summaries, bibliographies and links to related stories. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

 Professional Collection
Full text for 300 education journals across a variety of fields such as child and adolescent psychology, drug and alcohol abuse, learning disabilities, sports/athletic training etc. Updated daily. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

 Alternative Press Index
Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Updated quarterly. Archive available covering 1969-1990. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

Show all databases
  The Media Family: Electronic Media in the Lives of Infants, Toddlers, Preschoolers, and Their Parents 
The Kaiser Family Foundation 2006 report shows the extent of electronic media in the lives of many young child...more

Pew Research Center 
A nonpartisan "fact tank" provides information on issues shaping America. They address religion, politics, mu...more

Family and Youth Services Bureau 
This Federal agency supports young people, particularly runaway and homeless youth by awarding funding that en...more

CIDRAP/Center for Infectious Disease Research & Policy 
Latest news, guidelines and information on the avian and pandemic flu is found on the site of this University ...more

Generation M: Media in the Lives of 8-18 Year-olds 
The Kaiser Family Foundation 2005 report examines media use of children and teens. The executive summary inclu...more

Show all websites


Last updated: Nov. 12, 2009
This page maintained by Gloria C. and Susan L.

ELM resources are licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations to the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.

© Hennepin County Library
We welcome your comments and suggestions.
 
LIBRARIAN BLOG
Contact an Elected Official

Share thoughts and opinions on current events and government policies by contacting your elected officials.  Find links to email, postal addresses and phone numbers.

...
  [more]
EBOOKS
  View eBooks