Federal Reserve Bank Site Selection Collection M/A 2000.174.01-.13
|Creator:||Historical Research, Inc.|
|Title:||Federal Reserve Bank Site Selection Collection|
|Quantity:||5.0 Cubic feet13 boxes.|
|Repository:||James K. Hosmer Special Collections Library|
Congress established the Federal Reserve in 1913. The Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis was at first a tenant in a leased space. In 1919 Congress approved the construction of new head office buildings for each of the 12 Federal Reserve districts. The Ninth District Federal Reserve purchased a tract of land at Fifth Street and Marquette Avenue in downtown Minneapolis and selected architect Cass Gilbert, well known for his design of the Minnesota Capitol and St. Paul Seminary in St. Paul. Minneapolis Federal Reserve employees moved into the four-story neoclassical building in 1925.
Banking activity increased during and after World War II, requiring the Fed to lease temporary quarters while plans were made expand its headquarters. An eight-floor addition atop the building was constructed from 1955 to 1957. The modern upper stories with stark, vertical lines stood in contrast to the neoclassical base. Later after the building was sold to National Bank the base was modernized to match the skyscraper addtion. The first building still exists as 510 Marquette at the corner of Marquette Avenue and 5th Street South in Minneapolis, next to the Nicollet Mall station of the Hiawatha light rail line.
The first building served as Ninth District headquarters until 1973, when the bank moved to its second location at 250 Marquette Avenue. The new building at 250 Marquette Avenue, now known as Marquette Plaza was beset by design problems and asbestos contamination. The Federal Reserve chose to sell it and build a new building.
In the early 1990s a search began for a new building site to accomodate more staff and technology. Historical Research Inc. helped research various sites in Minneapolis and created a significant amount of research materials.
The Great Northern Depot was built in and served Minneapolis until March 1st, 1978 when the last passengers left the depot. It was razed by early Fall 1978.
Description of the Collection
This collection is the research of the company, Historical Research, Inc. It contains articles, documentation, maps, National Register Nomination forms, timelines, and evaluations of buildings and sites. It includes in-depth historical reviews of the sites and businesses over the course of the history of Minneapolis. Also included are photographs and photocopies of photographs of the various sites and buildings. The materials in this collection are a result of the search by the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis for a new site upon which to build a new building. The sites they had evaluated include Bridgehead, the Nicollet Hotel, the Warehouse District, the Twin Cities Rapid Transit Company's steam plant, the Main Street Hydro Electric Station, Berman Buckskin Building and others. The materials are drawn primarily from the collections of the Minneapolis Public Library, Special Collections, the Minnesota Historical Society and the National Archives.
Some materials were removed from the archives and added to other files within the Minneapolis Collection. The materials were filed: see SCMC VF Restaurants: White Castle; uncat photos: Buildings: K's Health Club; uncat photos: Buildings: Gluek Co.; uncat photos: Buildings: Freight House. See also SCMC M/A 2000.192.01-.07 Historical Research, for material including Dania Hall by the Cedar Riverside Project Area Committee (1977) and Historical Survey of Cedar Riverside by Noreen Davis Roberts (1979).
See also slides (15) located in slide collection. Slides appear to be of Warehouse District or St Anthony Falls area (one address is 201 E Hennepin). Photographer is L.A. Boehme.
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis.
Minneapolis (Minn.) -- History.
Table of Contents
|Researcher's qualification, miscellaneous research and notes -- Box 1|
|Correspondence and documentation on site selection process March 1993-May 1994 -- Box 2|
|Section 106 Document: site selection design description, archaeological resources, identification of historical buildings, photos, timelines, soil tests -- Box 3|
|Clippings, maps, articles, photocopied sections from books, reports, Purcell and Elmslie houses in Minneapolis -- Box 4|
|Bridgehead site evaluation: outline of Bridge Square history, Home Insurance Co. Bldg (also known as Northrop King and Berman Buckskin building -- Box 5|
|Bridgehead site evaluation: MN Census (photocopies 1900, 1905,1920), building permits, abstracts (for site of Berman Buckskin Co.), notes, maps -- Box 6|
|Nicollet Hotel: floor plans, articles, clippings, maps, National Register nomination form, photos, archaeology of area -- Box 7|
|Warehouse district: National Register Nomination forms, inventories, study sheets, photo index, Gluek Brewing co., K's Health Club (Wodorsky), Miske Bldg, readings on warehousing (1925) and market organizations (1929-1930) -- Box 8|
|Elisha Morse Cupola House, Stevens Square Historic District, LaSalle Motor Car Co. (Kee's Bldg), Minneapolis Main Post Office, Twin Cities Rapid Transit Co., and Steamplant, Freight House (Wisconsin Central) Milwaukee Road Depot and Freight House, E. J. Phelps fountain (moved to Lyndale Park Rose Gardens) -- Box 9|
|Eastman Flats, Art Godfrey House, Island Sash and Door Factory, Mpls Hides and Fur Co. Our Lady of Lourdes Church, Pillsbury Branch Library -- Box 10|
|-- Box 11|
|Main Street Hydro Electric Station, notes and research maps and diagrams, articles on hydropower, an article by Roberts and Hess (1980) on "Historical overview of Water Power Use at St. Anthony Falls, MN." Miscellaneous articles, photographs and photocopies of photographs -- Box 12|
|Articles: business along the Mississippi (map), engineering and requests for permits Mississippi River sawdust controversy, permits for filling, dumping, dredging Mississippi River, photos and photocopies 1900-1889 -- Box 13|
Please leave a message.
We try to respond within 24 hrs.
Plan your visit to Special Collections
10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Monday - Thursday &
First and Third Saturdays of the month
|Local Historical Societies|