|<< Return to list|
Walter E. Larson Collection M/A 2007.01.01
|Creator:||Larson, Walter Edwin, 1900-1979|
|Title:||Walter E. Larson Collection|
|Repository:||James K. Hosmer Special Collections Library|
Walter E. Larson was born in La Crosse Wisconson and moved to Minneapolis with his parents when he was 3 years old. He attended Sheridan and Vocational schools, and entered the meat business in 1924.
Walter Edwin Larson (April 27, 1900 - April 23, 1979) on Feb. 7, 1933, married Katherine (later Catherine) Mary Semanko (June 14, 1903-March 8, 1976) at St. Mary's Russian Orthodox Greek Catholic Church, now known as St. Mary Orthodox Cathedral, in Northeast Minneapolis. They had four sons: Norman Walter ( Aug. 22, 1934), Lawrence Edmund (July 23, 1937), David Gregory (Nov. 7, 1940) and Glenn Thomas (Feb. 1, 1943).
Also in 1933 Walter opened a meat market at 2203 Johnson St. NE. He ran Larson Bros. Meats there, and an older brother, Al, ran the meat market they owned at 13th Avenue and 3rd St. NE. Walter became sole owner of the Johnson Street market, and after WWII, he sold it to the three Ready Brothers (Dan, Jack and Warren) who had worked for him. As of November 2010, Ready Meats was still in business, located at Johnson Street and 36th Avenue NE., although the Ready family is not involved in its ownership.
After leaving the meat business, Walter joined the Clinic Equipment Co. for a short time and served as its president. Then in 1947 four Polish men and Walter, of Norwegian and Swedish descent, organized the 13th Avenue State Bank at the corner of 13th Avenue and Second Street NE. in the building that had housed the Second Northwestern National Bank, which had been moved to the Midway District of Minneapolis/St. Paul. The five men (two Rays and three Walters) felt that the local businesses and families needed a bank in that section of Northeast Minneapolis. They gathered a group of other community leaders and residents, chartered a bus and took their petition for a bank charter to the Minnesota State Capitol. The charter for the 13th Avenue State Bank of Minneapolis was granted on Nov. 20, 1947, a real accomplishment since the State of Minnesota had not issued any new bank charters during the previous 25 years. The bank had its grand opening on Jan. 3, 1948.
President of the bank was Raymond J. Julkowski, a lawyer and state senator. Vice President was Raymond A. Mikolajczyk, a professional banker, and Walter Larson was Cashier. These three plus the other two men who organized the bank: Dr. Walter S. Warpeha Sr., a dentist, and Walter A. Kostick, who was president and general manager of the Aero-Flex Lift Co. - formed the bank's Board of Directors.
In 1958, Walter Rasmussen bought the bank. He had worked at a small bank early in his career and was always fascinated by banking, but he ventured into the commercial real estate market of Minneapolis before becoming owner of his own bank. He renamed it Northeast Bank and moved it to a new building at the corner of Broadway and Marshall Streets NE. Additional offices are in Columbia Heights and Coon Rapids. Maintaining a link to the bank's founders is Dr. Walter S. Warpeha Jr., who is a member of the bank's current Board of Directors.
Description of the Collection
One box. This collection contains a scrapbook of newspaper clippings compiled by Larson at the time of the 13th Avenue State Bank of Minneapolis grand opening on December 13, 1947. The opening of the bank was rescheduled for January 3, 1948, because of a delay of fixtures. In addition to the scrapbook, the collection contains a few letters from the bank from 1948 and 1949, addressed to stockholders, introducing services offered by the bank.
Northeast Bank. (Minneapolis, Minn.)
Thirteenth Avenue State Bank of Minneapolis.
Northeast Community (Minneapolis, Minn.) -- History.
Table of Contents
Please leave a message.
We try to respond within 24 hrs.
Plan your visit to Special Collections
We welcome visitors! Please call at least one day ahead to make an appointment if you have a reference question or a research project.
10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Monday - Thursday &
First and Third Saturdays of the month
|Local Historical Societies|