Skip Navigation
Library Catalog Internet Search Birth to Six - Books, reading tips and storytimes for young children KidLinks - Book reviews, homework help, and websites for kids TeenLinks - Homework help, book reviews, and websites for teens WorldLinks Job & CareerLinks Contact Us
Reference and Research BookSpace Support the Library Library Information Events and Classes My Account
home » do your homework » encyclopedias & dictionaries

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Sub-Topics

• Dictionaries
• Encyclopedias
• Special Dictionaries (visual, rhyming, etc.)
• World Languages

Databases        (Show all)

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos
Una enciclopedia de conocimientos generales, para los grados primarios y secundarios. Contiene información sobre gente, lugares, objetos, acontecimientos e ideas. Aprovecha esta enciclopedia para investigar y divertirte. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from suburban Hennepin County property taxes.

Encylopædia Britannica Online
An in-depth encyclopedia of information covering a wide variety of topics and people. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

Grolier Online
Search all of HCL's Grolier databases simultaneously or individually from this aggregated site. Includes Lands and Peoples, New Book of Popular Science and Amazing Animals of the World. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from suburban Hennepin County property taxes.

Lands & Peoples
Information about people, geography, economy, language, culture, and history. Lands & Peoples books online. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from suburban Hennepin County property taxes.

Oxford English Dictionary Online
Find the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from suburban Hennepin County property taxes.

Show more selected databases
 

Websites

Symbols.com 

An encyclopedia about the history and meaning of Western symbols.   Search by graphics or by text. more
http://www.symbols.com/

Encyclopedia Mythica 
An encyclopedia of folklore, legends, religion and mythology.  Browse by region of the world or search by areas of ...more
http://www.pantheon.org/

Acronym Finder 

Find out what initials, abrreviations and acronyms stand for.


http://www.acronymfinder.com/

WordReference Online Language Dictionaries 
Bilingual dictionaries for Spanish, French, Italian, and Portuguese. 
http://www.wordreference.com/

Definr 

An incredibly fast dictionary that suggests words as you type. 


http://definr.com

Show all websites
Last updated: Nov. 16, 2009
This page maintained by Katherine D.
ELM resources are licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations to the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
 
LIBRARIAN BLOG
Google Translate has a new look, so
give it a try!  Select from 51 languages, upload documents, listen to the English translation, or use the 'detect language' feature if you don't know what language you're reading! ...
  [more]
 
MORE INFORMATION
Databases vs. Websites
Citing Electronic Resources
About TeenLinks
 
NEW TOPIC