Discovering CollectionContent covers history, literature, biography, science, and social studies. Resources include primary sources, essays, critical analyses, biographies, creative works, and multimedia.
more info.
Junior Reference CollectionInformation from reference books about people, places, history, science, and more. Includes audio, video, photos, and maps.
more info.
U.S. History In ContextPrimary documents, secondary sources, and journal articles covering all areas of U.S. history. Formerly titled History Resource Center: U.S.
more info.
World Book OnlineIn addition to the well-known encyclopedia, offers headline news explored in depth, primary sources, pathfinders, atlases and images and a dictionary.
more info.
World History In ContextBroad coverage moving chronologically from antiquity to the present and geographically around the globe. Content includes primary sources, reference books, periodicals, maps, atlases and images.
more info.
(Show more)
Websites
Food Timeline
Food history from prehistoric times to the present.
http://www.foodtimeline.org/
FilmSite
History of the Hollywood film industry from the
pre-1900s through today. Resources include timelines, commentary, important milestones, analysis and “best of” lists.
http://www.filmsite.org/
Art Cyclopedia: the fine art search engine
Discover artists and movements by timeline, name, subject and nationality.
http://www.artcyclopedia.com/
Minnesota Video Vault
Video clips of the people, places and issues of Minnesota are from documentaries, interviews and performances from the Twin Cities Public Television archives.
http://www.mnvideovault.org/
Performing Arts Encyclopedia
From the Library of Congress, resources include videos, sound files, manuscripts, sheet music, essays and more pertaining to music from around the world.
http://www.loc.gov/performingarts/
Academy of Achievement
Biographies and interviews of modern worldwide leaders. Includes podcasts.
http://www.achievement.org/autodoc/
pagegen/index.html
African American Registry
Encyclopedia of African American experiences. Search by date and subject.
http://www.aaregistry.com/
American Rhetoric
Database of over 5,000 full text, audio, and video versions of historic speeches, interviews, and debates.
http://www.americanrhetoric.com
Archiving Early America
Find primary sources and information about people and events from the Colonial Era and Revolutionary War.
http://www.earlyamerica.com/
ArtLex Art Dictionary
Glossary of terms used in discussing art. Includes images, quotations, pronunciation guide and more.
http://artlex.com/
BBC History
Key events in British history as well as practical information about archaeology, family history, ancient civilizations and more.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/
Behind the Name
Discover the meaning and history behind family surnames.
http://surnames.behindthename.com/
Best of History Websites
History websites reviewed for quality, accuracy, and usefulness. Covers prehistory through modern times.
http://www.besthistorysites.net
Biography.com
Biographies of 25,000 well-known people - past and present.
http://www.biography.com
Bulfinch's Mythology
Mythology reference spans the ages from the Olympus to King Arthur.
http://www.bartleby.com/bulfinch/
Cyndi's List for Kids & Teens
Index of websites to help you research your genealogy and discover your family history.
http://www.cyndislist.com/kids.htm
Dead or Alive?
Tracks birth dates, death dates and causes of death for famous people.
http://www.deadoraliveinfo.com/
EuroDocs
A wiki providing country-by-country access to online resources and primary documents for Western European history.
http://eudocs.lib.byu.edu/index.php
/Main_Page
Find a Grave
Search for graves of your ancestors and celebrities. Information provided by volunteers.
http://www.findagrave.com/index.htm
l
Frontline Diplomacy
Transcripts of interviews with American diplomats involved with crises and issues that faced the United States during the
1920s-1990s. Browse by subject or author.
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/collect
ions/diplomacy/
Genealogy Spot
Find research guides and family records. Search by type of record, state, or ethnicity.
http://www.genealogyspot.com/
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Browse by time period and region for essays and works of art. Presented by the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/
History Matters
A gateway to 1,000+
primary resources and
annotated web sites organized by topic and time period.
http://historymatters.gmu.edu
HistoryWorld
Interactive timelines for countries and regions throughout the world.
http://www.historyworld.net/default
.asp
How to Get Started in Genealogy
Get started in researching family history. Includes research tips, tools, and resources. From WorldGenWeb.
http://www.worldgenweb.org/~wgw4kid
s/start.htm
Index of Native American History Resources on the Internet
History by and about Native Americans. Minnesota tribes include the Dakota Sioux and the
Ojibwe (a/k/a Chippewa).
http://www.hanksville.org/NAresourc
es/indices/NAhistory.html
InfoPlease Biography
More than 30,000 biographies from Information Please Almanac. Search by name or subject.
http://www.infoplease.com/people.ht
ml
Library Subject Guide: History & Biography
Check out more resources selected by Hennepin County librarians.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/Sub
jectGuides.cfm?Topic=History/Bi
ography
Minneapolis Collection
Covers all aspects of the city’s history. Includes books, photographs, high school yearbooks, periodicals, maps, and thousands of files of newspaper clippings.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/spe
cialcollections/minneapoliscoll
ection.cfm
Minnesota Discovery Center
Focuses on the regional, local and personal history of Minnesota's iron ranges and the people who settled there.
http://mndiscoverycenter.com/resear
ch-center
Minnesota Historical Society
Research events, people, and places in Minnesota's history. Includes primary resources.
http://www.mnhs.org/index.htm
Minnesota's Historic Shipwrecks
Photographs, essays, and maps of shipwrecks in Lake Superior. Discover the history of The Great Lakes, how ships were used, and what is being done to preserv the sunken ships.
http://www.mnhs.org/places/national
register/shipwrecks/index.html
Native American Websites
Over 100 Web sites about Native American tribes. Minnesota tribes include the Dakota Sioux and the
Ojibwe (a/k/a Chippewa).
http://www.multcolib.org/homework/n
atamhc.html
New York Times Topics
A collection of all the news, reference and archival information, photos, graphics, and audio and video files published by the New York Times on an extensive list of people, subjects, places, and organizations dating back to 1981.
http://www.nytimes.com/pages/topics
/
PBS: History & Biographies
History documentaries and i
nteractive biographies from PBS programs including American Experience, American Masters, Frontline and NOVA.
http://www.pbs.org/history/history_
biographies.html
Presidents of the United States
Facts, election results, cabinet members, and notable events for each of the presidents.
http://www.ipl.org/div/potus/
Smithsonian's History Explorer
Features key artifacts from American History (1490 to the present). Browse the timeline or search by keyword!
http://historyexplorer.americanhist
ory.si.edu/home/
This Day in History
Choose a day of the month to find out what happened in past years. From the History Channel.
http://www.history.com/this-day-in-
history
Time Magazine Archive
Search articles and magazine covers from 1923 to the present.
http://www.time.com/time/archive
Today in History
Famous facts and trivia for each day of the year from the Library of Congress.
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/today/t
oday.html
True North
Interactive maps of Minnesota's history, natural resources, production & transportation, and more!
http://www.lmic.state.mn.us/ghol/
U.S. Diplomacy
References and links to source documents and video clips about United States diplomatic history and foreign affairs.
http://www.usdiplomacy.org/