Skip Navigation
Library Catalog Internet Search Birth to Six - Books, reading tips and storytimes for young children KidLinks - Book reviews, homework help, and websites for kids TeenLinks - Homework help, book reviews, and websites for teens WorldLinks Job & CareerLinks Contact Us
Reference and Research BookSpace Support the Library Library Information Events and Classes My Account
home » do your homework » history & biography

History & Biography

Sub-Topics

• Biographies
• Family History
• History Day Projects
• Minnesota History
 
• The Arts
• United States History
• World History

Databases        (Show all)

American Periodicals Series Online, 1740–1900
Digitized images from over 1100 magazines and journals spanning nearly 200 years. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from suburban Hennepin County property taxes.

Biography Resource Center
Information on more than one million people from throughout history. Details
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.

CQ Researcher
Reports address the most current and controversial issues of the day with detailed discussions of the various sides of the issues, summaries, bibliographies and links to related stories. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from suburban Hennepin County property taxes.

Discovering Collection
Use this comprehensive database to retrieve in-depth reference content for the core curriculum areas of Literature, History, Biographies, Science, and Social Studies. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

Historical New York Times, 1851–2005
Searchable full text back to the first issue. Includes digital reproductions of every page from every available issue. Details
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.

Show more selected databases
 

Websites

Smithsonian's History Explorer 
Features key artifacts from American History (1490 to the present). Browse the timeline or search by keyword!
http://historyexplorer.americanhist
ory.si.edu/index.asp


Howstuffworks: History 
Explore the world's regions, civilizations, wars and inventions. Includes photo and video resources.
http://history.howstuffworks.com/

Academy of Achievement  
Biographies and interviews of modern worldwide leaders.  Organized alphabetically by person, by careeer, and by key...more
http://www.achievement.org/autodoc/
pagegen/index.html


Time Magazine Archive 
Search articles and magazine covers from 1923 to the present.
http://www.time.com/time/archive

African American Registry 
Encyclopedia of African American biography, history, and poetry. Organized by calendar year and by subject.
http://www.aaregistry.com/

Show all websites
Last updated: Nov. 16, 2009
This page maintained by Katherine D.
ELM resources are licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations to the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
 
LIBRARIAN BLOG
Heard any references to East Germany lately?
You may have talked about the collapse of the Berlin Wall in your history classes with the recent 20th anniversaryAt Cold War's End ...
  [more]
 
CATALOG SEARCHES
History
World History
United States History
Biography
Autobiography
 
MORE INFORMATION
Databases vs. Websites
Citing Electronic Resources
About TeenLinks
 
NEW TOPIC