home » do your homework » history day projects

History Day Projects


A documentary, exhibit, paper, performance or web site based on the National History Day theme

Check out History Day Hullabaloo Resources and Events for more information

Sub-Topics

• *Get Started
• *Research Tips
• Advanced Research
 
• Minnesota History Resources
• U.S. History Resources
• World History Resources

Databases    

Biography In Context
Biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Searchable by birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender. Results include images, audio, and articles from periodicals and reference books. more info.

Britannica Reference Center
Accompanying the expansive encyclopedia articles are primary sources, news, websites, video, images, magazine articles, eBooks, and an interactive atlas. more info.

Discovering Collection
Content covers history, literature, biography, science, and social studies. Resources include primary sources, essays, critical analyses, biographies, creative works, and multimedia. more info.

Historical New York Times, 1851–2009
Offers full page and article images with searchable full-text back to the first issue. See ProQuest Digital Microfilm for current articles. more info.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Social issues covered by pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies, court-case overviews, periodical articles, statistical tables, charts and graphs, images, and podcasts. more info.

Points of View Reference Center
Essays on controversial topics that present multiple sides of a current issue. Offers questions and materials for further thought. more info.

ProQuest Newsstand
Full-text articles from major national and regional newspapers, including the Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, and the Star Tribune. Coverage varies by title. more info.

Social Explorer
Create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change. Current and historical US Census, from 1790 to 2000, plus the first 2010 census data release. more info.

Student Resources in Context
Subjects include biography, literature, history, science, and multiculturalism. Includes full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary documents, topical essays, biographies, critical analyses, timelines, photos and maps. more info.

U.S. History In Context
Primary documents, secondary sources, and journal articles covering all areas of U.S. history. Formerly titled History Resource Center: U.S. more info.

World History In Context
Broad coverage moving chronologically from antiquity to the present and geographically around the globe. Content includes primary sources, reference books, periodicals, maps, atlases and images. more info.

WorldCat
A catalog of material held in libraries worldwide. A good source for identifying items for interlibrary loan requests. more info.

 

Websites

History Day Research in Minnesota 
Step-by-step instructions on how to interpret the theme, choose a topic, create a research strategy, find background and context, gather sources and put together a bibliography.
https://sites.google.com/a/umn.edu/
hdmn2/


Digital Collections & Services from the Library of Congress 
Historic maps, photos, audio files, videos, documents and more can be found online here.
http://www.loc.gov/library/libarch-
digital.html


Google Patent Search 
Information on inventions that changed the world.
http://www.google.com/?tbm=pts

Help with Connecting to Library Databases 
Troubleshooting tips to use library databases from computers outside the library.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/Hel
pConnectingToLibraryDatabases.cfm


Hennepin County Library's Minneapolis Collection 
Historic books, photographs, high school yearbooks, archival and manuscript collections, periodicals, maps, and thousand...more
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/spe
cialcollections/minneapoliscoll
ection.cfm


Show all websites
Last updated: Jun. 17, 2013
This page maintained by Jody W.

 
ASK US

MORE INFORMATION
Databases vs. Websites
Connecting to Library Databases
 
NEW TOPIC
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS