home » do your homework » history day projects

History Day Projects


A documentary, exhibit, paper, performance or web site based on the National History Day theme

Check out History Day Hullabaloo Resources and Events for more information

Sub-Topics

• *Get Started
• *Research Tips
• Advanced Research
 
• Minnesota History Resources
• U.S. History Resources
• World History Resources

Databases    

Biography In Context
Biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Searchable by birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender. Results include images, audio, and articles from periodicals and reference books. more info.

Britannica Reference Center
Accompanying the expansive encyclopedia articles are primary sources, news, websites, video, images, magazine articles, eBooks, and an interactive atlas. more info.

Discovering Collection
Content covers history, literature, biography, science, and social studies. Resources include primary sources, essays, critical analyses, biographies, creative works, and multimedia. more info.

Historical New York Times, 1851–2009
Offers full page and article images with searchable full-text back to the first issue. See ProQuest Digital Microfilm for current articles. more info.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Social issues covered by pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies, court-case overviews, periodical articles, statistical tables, charts and graphs, images, and podcasts. more info.

Points of View Reference Center
Essays on controversial topics that present multiple sides of a current issue. Offers questions and materials for further thought. more info.

ProQuest Newsstand
Full-text articles from major national and regional newspapers, including the Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, and the Star Tribune. Coverage varies by title. more info.

Social Explorer
Create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change. Current and historical US Census, from 1790 to 2000, plus the first 2010 census data release. more info.

Student Resources in Context
Subjects include biography, literature, history, science, and multiculturalism. Includes full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary documents, topical essays, biographies, critical analyses, timelines, photos and maps. more info.

U.S. History In Context
Primary documents, secondary sources, and journal articles covering all areas of U.S. history. Formerly titled History Resource Center: U.S. more info.

World History In Context
Broad coverage moving chronologically from antiquity to the present and geographically around the globe. Content includes primary sources, reference books, periodicals, maps, atlases and images. more info.

WorldCat
A catalog of material held in libraries worldwide. A good source for identifying items for interlibrary loan requests. more info.

 

Websites

History Day Research in Minnesota 
Step-by-step instructions on how to interpret the theme, choose a topic, create a research strategy, find background and context, gather sources and put together a bibliography.
https://sites.google.com/a/umn.edu/
hdmn2/


Digital Collections & Services from the Library of Congress 
Historic maps, photos, audio files, videos, documents and more can be found online here.
http://www.loc.gov/library/libarch-
digital.html


Google Patent Search 
Information on inventions that changed the world.
http://www.google.com/?tbm=pts

Help with Connecting to Library Databases 
Troubleshooting tips to use library databases from computers outside the library.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/Hel
pConnectingToLibraryDatabases.cfm


Hennepin County Library's Minneapolis Collection 
Historic books, photographs, high school yearbooks, archival and manuscript collections, periodicals, maps, and thousands of newspaper clippings.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/spe
cialcollections/minneapoliscoll
ection.cfm


Hennepin County Library's Posters of World War II Online Collection 
Posters from 1939-1945 published in the United States and also England, Canada, Germany, China, and various nations' information centers located in New York.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/WWI
IPosters/


Historical Newspapers Online 
A directory of historical online U.S. newspapers from the 18th to the 20th centuries.
http://guides.library.upenn.edu/his
toricalnewspapersonline


History Day Research at the University of Minnesota 
Rare and unique resources can be found in the U of M's libraries and are available for your research.  Contact the History Day helpers at the U for help. Wilson Library will be the primary library.
https://www.lib.umn.edu/wilson/welc
ome-history-day


Library Subject Guide: Education & Libraries Libraries subtopic 
Search library catalogs from around the state and around the world using these databases and websites.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/Sub
Topics.cfm?Topic=Education/Libr
aries&SubTopic=Libraries


Library Subject Guide: History & Biography 
Websites and databases selected by librarians for this adult subject guide.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/Sub
jectGuides.cfm?Topic=History/Bi
ography


Library Subject Guide: Magazines & Newspapers 
Historical, specialized, multicultural and other types of magazines and newspapers selected by librarians for this adult subject guide.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/Sub
jectGuides.cfm?Topic=Magazines/
Newspapers


Library Subject Guide: Minnesota History subtopic 
Websites and databases selected by librarians on Minnesota History for this adult subject guide.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/Sub
Topics.cfm?Topic=History/Biogra
phy&SubTopic=Minnesota%20History


Library Subject Guide: U.S. History subtopic 
Websites and databases selected by librarians on United States History for this adult subject guide.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/Sub
Topics.cfm?Topic=History/Biogra
phy&SubTopic=U%2ES%2E%20History


Library Subject Guide: World History subtopic 
Websites and databases selected by librarians on World History for this adult subject guide.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/Sub
Topics.cfm?Topic=History/Biogra
phy&SubTopic=World%20History


Minneapolis Photo Collection 
More than 10,000 historical images of Minneapolis
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/Mpl
sPhotos/


Minnesota Historical Society 
Locate moving images and sound recordings as well as print materials, local history information, a listing of state historical organizations, family history tools and more.
http://www.mnhs.org/index.htm

Minnesota History Topics 
Explore debates and diplomacy from a broad list of topics that relate to Minnesota history. From the Minnesota Historical Society.
http://sites.mnhs.org/library/conte
nt/history-topics


Minnesota Magazine Index 
Articles on local and statewide politics, news, current events, history and the arts that appeared in nine Minnesota magazines from 1991 to 2005.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/mnm
ag/


Minnesota Reflections 
A searchable database of over 20,000 images and documents from Minnesota history.
http://reflections.mndigital.org/

National History Day 
Info on how to participate as well as Teacher Resources which could help with your history day project.
http://www.nhd.org/

National History Day in Minnesota 
Find information about regional and state competitions, and Research Resources to help you in your work. One option is to E-mail a History Day helper at the U of MN.
http://education.mnhs.org/historyda
y/


Research Project Calculator 
Develop a step-by-step schedule for your research project!
http://rpc.elm4you.org/

Search Other Library Catalogs 
Use MnLink to search for materials you cannot find in the Hennepin County Library Catalog.  Includes college and academic libraries.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/Mor
eMinnesotaLibraries.cfm


TeenLinks' General Primary Sources subtopic 
Links to a wide range of primary resources including works of art and artifacts found in museums.
http://www.hclib.org/teens/TeenTopi
csAction.cfm?Topic=Research/Pri
marySources&SubTopic=GeneralPri
marySources


TeenLinks' History & Biography Subject Guide 
Websites and databases selected by librarians including Family History and The Arts.
http://www.hclib.org/teens/TeenTopi
csAction.cfm?Topic=History/Biog
raphy


TeenLinks' Minnesota Primary Sources subtopic 
Websites and databases selected by librarians focused on Minnesota.
http://www.hclib.org/teens/TeenTopi
csAction.cfm?Topic=Research/Pri
marySources&SubTopic=MinnesotaP
rimarySources


TeenLinks' Minnesota Subject Guide 
Websites and databases selected by librarians focused on Minnesota. Find cities, data & statistics, geography & maps, government & politics, history, and more.
http://www.hclib.org/teens/SubjectG
uides.cfm?Topic=Minnesota


TeenLinks' Research & Primary Sources Subject Guide 
Librarian-selected links to oral histories, documents, diaries, artifacts, and multi-media primary sources.
http://www.hclib.org/teens/TeenTopi
csAction.cfm?Topic=Research/Pri
marySources


TeenLinks' Research Subtopic 
Websites and databases selected by librarians.
http://www.hclib.org/teens/TeenTopi
csAction.cfm?Topic=Research/Pri
marySources&SubTopic=Research


TeenLinks' U.S. History subtopic 
Websites and databases selected by librarians focused on United States history.
http://www.hclib.org/teens/TeenTopi
csAction.cfm?Topic=History/Biog
raphy&SubTopic=UnitedStatesHistory


TeenLinks' U.S. Primary Sources subtopic 
Websites and databases selected by librarians focused on United States primary sources.
http://www.hclib.org/teens/TeenTopi
csAction.cfm?Topic=Research/Pri
marySources&SubTopic=USPrimarySources


TeenLinks' World History subtopic 
Websites and databases selected by librarians focused on World history.
http://www.hclib.org/teens/TeenTopi
csAction.cfm?Topic=History/Biog
raphy&SubTopic=WorldHistory


TeenLinks' World Primary Sources subtopic 
Websites and databases selected by librarians focused on World primary sources.
http://www.hclib.org/teens/TeenTopi
csAction.cfm?Topic=Research/Pri
marySources&SubTopic=WorldPrima
rySources


TeenLinks' Writing Subtopic 
Tips on how to organize and write research projects.
http://www.hclib.org/teens/TeenTopi
csAction.cfm?Topic=Research/Pri
marySources&SubTopic=Writing


Using Primary Soruces on the Web 
A short guide to finding and evaluating primary sources on the Internet.
http://www.ala.org/rusa/sections/hi
story/resources/pubs/usingprima
rysources


Workday Minnesota 
Issues that face Minnesota works, labor unions, and organizations.  Topics include immigrant workers, trade, strikes, labor during wartime, women and unions, and more.
http://www.workdayminnesota.org/ind
ex.php


Last updated: Jun. 17, 2013
This page maintained by Jody W.

 
ASK US

MORE INFORMATION
Databases vs. Websites
Connecting to Library Databases
 
NEW TOPIC
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS