home » do your homework » minnesota

Minnesota

Sub-Topics

• Cities
• Data & Statistics
• Famous Minnesotans
• General
 
• Geography & Maps
• Government & Politics
• History
• Newspapers & Magazines

Databases    

Duluth News-Tribune
Full-text articles from the newspaper, 1995-present. more info.

Available on Library workstations onlyMinnesota Career Information System (MCIS)
Set career goals, build a resume, search for jobs, and plan your education path with this database. Resources include occupation descriptions, job search tools, college information sources including financial aid planning. Data provided is Minnesota specific. Available only on library workstations. more info.

MnLINK – Minnesota Library Information Network
Search for materials at public and academic libraries across the state of Minnesota. more info.

St. Cloud Times
Full-text news articles, 2002-present. more info.

St. Paul Pioneer Press
Full-text articles, 1988 to present. more info.

Star Tribune
Full text of articles from the newspaper, 1986 to present. See also Historical Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1922) and ProQuest Digital Microfilm. more info.

 

Websites

MN150 Wiki 
150 people, places and things that shape our state. 
http://discovery.mnhs.org/MN150/ind
ex.php?title=Main_Page


MN Magazine Index 
An index of articles on local and statewide politics, news, current events, history and the arts that appeared in nine Minnesota magazines from 1991 to 2005.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/mnm
ag/


MN Geospatial Information Office 
Includes maps for Minnesota as well as photos, with a focus on GIS (a computer system capable of capturing, storing, analyzing, and displaying geographically referenced information).
http://www.mngeo.state.mn.us/index.
html


MinnPost 
News and analysis Monday through Friday, reported by experienced Twin Cities journalists.
http://www.minnpost.com/

John R. Borchert Map Library 
Links to Minnesota on the Web, aerial maps,and map dealers list. At the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities.
http://map.lib.umn.edu/

Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress 
State officials who served nationally since our Statehood in 1858.
http://bioguide.congress.gov/biosea
rch/biosearch.asp


Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers 
Search Minnesota newspaper pages from 1880 to 1905. Newspapers from other states and cities are also available.
http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/

Famous Minnesotans 
Lists of authors, business people, explorers, artists, scientists, athletes and more who were born or raised in Minnesota.
http://www.minnesotafunfacts.com/fa
mous-minnesotans/


Greetings from Duluth, MN 
Vintage postcards, photos and panoramic pictures.
http://www.duluth-mn-usa.com/

Immigration History Research Center 
Research international migration and explore archives documenting immigrant and refugee life, especially in the U.S. Accessible to students, teachers, and the public.
http://www.ihrc.umn.edu/

Introduction to Dakota Culture & History 
Explore this Minnesota tribal community.
http://www.tc.umn.edu/~call0031/dak
ota.html


Introduction to Ojibway Culture & History 
Explore this Minnesota tribal community.
http://www.tc.umn.edu/~call0031/oji
bwa.html


Labor Review Archive Project 
History of the labor movement in the Twin Cities from 1907-2006.
http://www.minneapolisunions.org/la
bor_review_archive_about.php


LakeFinder: Minnesota DNR 
Maps & statistics about lakes and their health. Great resource for science projects!
http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/lakefind
/index.html


Library Subject Guide: Minnesota 
Check out more resources selected by Hennepin County librarians.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/Sub
jectGuides.cfm?Topic=Minnesota


Metropolitan Council Data + Maps 
Create an interactive map of the Twin Cities, look at community profiles, and find other data and statistics for the metro area.
http://stats.metc.state.mn.us/Defau
lt.aspx


Minneapolis Collection 
The city's history which includes books, photographs, high school yearbooks, archival and manuscript collections.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/spe
cialcollections/minneapoliscoll
ection.cfm


Minneapolis Past and Present 
James Lilek's photo collection of historic Minneapolis buildings.
http://www.lileks.com/mpls/

Minneapolis Photo Collection 
Digitized photos from Minneapolis Central Library's special collection.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/Mpl
sPhotos/


MN Author Biographies 
Short articles about authors who have a Minnesota connection.
http://collections.mnhs.org/mnautho
rs/


MN Census Data 
From 1900 to the present, you can search the U.S. Census by county or city/township.
http://www.morris.umn.edu/cst/temp/
mdc/census/


MN Compass Demographics 
Use the Region menu at the very top to explore statistics and information about specific areas, from multi-county groups to neighborhoods.
http://www.mncompass.org/demographi
cs/index.php


MN Daily Archives 
Issues of the Minnesota Daily, the newspaper of the University of Minnesota from 1900 to present.
http://www.mndaily.com/archives/pdf
s


MN Discovery Center 
Northeast counties' Iron Range history in written materials, oral history recordings, videos and photos.
http://mndiscoverycenter.com/resear
ch-center


MN Historial Society  
Find photos in the Photo & Art Database. Learn more about Minnesota people, places, and history.
http://www.mnhs.org/

MN Legislators, Past and Present 
A comprehensive list of legislators who have served in the state legislature since territorial times.
http://www.leg.state.mn.us/legdb/in
dex.aspx


MN Maps Online 
Search historic Minnesota maps. Includes original land survey maps, plat books, and atlases.
http://www.mnhs.org/collections/dig
italmaps/index.htm


MN Newspapers Directory 
Browse a complete list of Minnesota newspapers. The list is arranged alphabetically by city, then by the newspaper.
http://www.mnnews.com/

MN Place Names 
Place name information on cities, towns, townships, lakes and streams.
http://mnplaces.mnhs.org/upham/

MN Public Radio (MPR) 
Our award-winning regional public radio station is one of the best in the country, sharing local, national and international news as well as cultural programming, discussion forums, political debates and more.
http://minnesota.publicradio.org/

MN Quick Facts from the U.S. Census Bureau 
Data about counties and cities.  Statistics include population, households, incomes, and more.
http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/st
ates/27000.html


MN Reflections 
A searchable database of over 20,000 images and documents from Minnesota history.
http://reflections.mndigital.org/

MN Secretary of State Student Page 
State symbols, history, trivia and more fun facts. From the Minnesota Secretary of State website.
http://www.sos.state.mn.us/index.as
px?page=7


MN State College and Universities (MnSCU) 
Locate information about all the community and technical colleges and state universities that are part of this statewide system. Link directly to the homepage of a specific school.
http://www.mnscu.edu/

MN State Demographic Center 
Analyzes and distributes data from state, U.S. Census Bureau and other sources.
http://www.demography.state.mn.us/

MN Video Vault 
Interviews, documentaries and more created by Twin Cities Public Television on Minnesota subjects.
http://www.mnvideovault.org/

MN.gov 
Quick access to maps, history, hard-to-find facts and trivia about Minnesota and its people.
http://mn.gov/portal/

MN.gov 
Start here for community information, lake maps, loon calls, more.
http://mn.gov/portal/

MNopedia 
Online encyclopedia about Minnesota created by the Minnesota Historical Society.
http://www.mnopedia.org/

People Finder | MN Historical Society 
Search engine for both famous Minnesotans and family history records at the MN Historical Society.
http://www.mnhs.org/people/index.ht
m


Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection 
Online maps of the state and  Minneapolis-St. Paul, as well as historical maps, and maps of national parks and monuments.
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/minn
esota.html


Placeography 
Wiki where the history of a house, building, farmstead, public land, neighborhood is shared. Includes many Minnesota cities.
http://www.placeography.org/index.p
hp/Main_Page


Politics in Minnesota  
This site is devoted to Minnesota politics and issues. It features public opinion surveys, discussion forums, and political commentary.
http://www.politicsinminnesota.com/

Resources on Minnesota Issues 
Introductions to controversial topics in Minnesota, with citations and links to key resources from the Legislative Library.
http://www.leg.state.mn.us/lrl/issu
es/issues.aspx


Roadside America | Minnesota 
A list of all the wonderful and weird things you can find in the Land of 10,000 Lakes, including giant statues, the Hormel Spam Museum, giant balls of twine, and the story of St. Urho, Grasshopper Chaser.
http://www.roadsideamerica.com/loca
tion/mn


Sheldon Aubut's City History 
Explore historic Duluth, Minneapolis, St. Paul and Stillwater.
http://www.cityhistory.us/

True North: Mapping Minnesota's History 
Maps Minnesota's natural resources, production & transportation, history and more!
http://www.mngeo.state.mn.us/ghol/

Twin Cities Public Television (tpt) 
In addition to sharing national programming created by PBS (Public Broadcasting System), tpt develops and shows programs, documentaries and newscasts about local topics.
http://www.tpt.org/

U.S. - Dakota War of 1862 
This war, its causes and its aftermath had a profound impact in shaping Minnesota as we know it today.
http://www.usdakotawar.org/

Winona Newspaper Project 
Three Winona newspapers make available the world, national, and local news from 1855 to 1960 and also 1976 with full-text online searching.
http://www.winona.edu/library/datab
ases/winonanewspaperproject.htm


Workday Minnesota 
Issues that face Minnesota works, labor unions, and organizations.  Topics include immigrant workers,trade and jobs, and more.
http://www.workdayminnesota.org/ind
ex.php


Last updated: Apr. 5, 2013
This page maintained by Christina G.

 
ASK US

 
MORE INFORMATION
•Databases vs. Websites
•Connecting to Library Databases
 
NEW TOPIC
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS