Skip Navigation
Library Catalog Internet Search Birth to Six - Books, reading tips and storytimes for young children KidLinks - Book reviews, homework help, and websites for kids TeenLinks - Homework help, book reviews, and websites for teens WorldLinks Job & CareerLinks Contact Us
Reference and Research BookSpace Support the Library Library Information Events and Classes My Account
home » do your homework » primary sources

Primary Sources

Original documents, oral histories, and artifacts created during the time or event you are studying that are not filtered by interpretation. May also be materials created at a later date by someone who lived through that time period or historical event.

Sub-Topics

• General Primary Sources
• Minnesota Primary Sources
• U.S. Primary Sources
• World Primary Sources

Databases        (Show all)

American Periodicals Series Online, 1740–1900
Digitized images from over 1100 magazines and journals spanning nearly 200 years. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from suburban Hennepin County property taxes.

Available on Library workstations onlyAncestry Library Edition
Provides a wide range of information of interest to genealogists including U.S. Federal Census records, passenger lists, birth, death, marriage and military records, family and local history collections and more. Available only on library workstations. Details
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.

CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)
Over 23,000 images of works of art representing a broad range of fine and decorative arts from well-known collections including the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Art Institute of Chicago and the Minneapolis Institute of Art. Details
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.

HeritageQuest
Search US Federal census records from 1790-1930, family and local history books, and genealogical and local history publications. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from suburban Hennepin County property taxes.

Historical New York Times, 1851–2005
Searchable full text back to the first issue. Includes digital reproductions of every page from every available issue. Details
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.

Show more selected databases
 

Websites

Primary Documents in American History 
Documents from 1763 - 1877 from the Library of Congress.
http://www.loc.gov/rr/program/bib/o
urdocs/PrimDocsHome.html


Minnesota Reflections 
A searchable database of thousands of images and documents from Minnesota history.  Browsable by collection, topic ...more
http://reflections.mndigital.org/in
dex.php


American Memory from the Library of Congress 
Both written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document th...more
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.h
tml


James K. Hosmer Special Collections 

More than 25,000 books and other materials in ten unique collections for reference and research use. Located at our C...more
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/spe
cialcollections/


Chronology of U.S. Historical Documents 
Historical documents from the pre-colonial era to the present from the University of Oklahoma College of Law.
http://www.law.ou.edu/hist/

Show all websites

Last updated: Nov. 20, 2009
This page maintained by Nina S.
ELM resources are licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations to the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
 
LIBRARIAN BLOG
Flickr Commons
can connect you to photo collections from The Library of Congress, the Smithsonian Institution, the National Ma ...
  [more]
 
MORE INFORMATION
Databases vs. Websites
Citing Electronic Resources
About TeenLinks
 
NEW TOPIC