home » do your homework » research & primary sources

Research & Primary Sources

Sub-Topics

• General Primary Sources
• Minnesota Primary Sources
• Research
 
• U.S. Primary Sources
• World Primary Sources
• Writing

Databases    (Show more)

American Periodicals Series Online, 1740–1941
Digitized images of articles from 1740-1940 covering art, history, literature, politics, education and general news. Original typography, drawings, graphic elements, and article layouts. more info.

Available on Library workstations onlyAncestry Library Edition
An ever expanding collection of records, including U.S. Federal Census records, passenger lists, birth, death, marriage, and military records, family and local history collections, newspapers and directories. Also includes international records. Available only on library workstations. more info.

CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)
Includes photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings, jewelry and costumes, textiles and architecture—plus audio, video, and mixed media. Eras are prehistoric to contemporary. Museums are mostly U.S. more info.

Discovering Collection
Content covers history, literature, biography, science, and social studies. Resources include primary sources, essays, critical analyses, biographies, creative works, and multimedia. more info.

HeritageQuest
American genealogical sources, primary sources, local and family histories, images, finding aids. Coverage from late 1700's. more info.

(Show more)
 

Websites

BibMe 
Automatically generates a bibliography for you to copy or download once you enter title, author or ISBN.
http://www.bibme.org

Minnesota Reflections 
A searchable database of thousands of images and documents from Minnesota history.  Browsable by collection, topic ...more
http://reflections.mndigital.org/in
dex.php


A+ Research & Writing 
Step-by-step instructions for selecting a topic, gathering information, and organizing a research project.
http://www.ipl.org/div/aplus/

American Memory from the Library of Congress 
Both written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document th...more
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.h
tml


James K. Hosmer Special Collections 
More than 25,000 books and other materials in ten unique collections for reference and research use. Located at our Cent...more
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/spe
cialcollections/


Show all websites
Last updated: Nov. 15, 2013
This page maintained by Mechelle F.

 
ASK US

MORE INFORMATION
Databases vs. Websites
Connecting to Library Databases
 
NEW TOPIC
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS