New Hennepin County Library Board take their seats this spring

Libray Board

In February, the Hennepin County Board appointed two new members to the Library Board, and reappointed a third to a second three-year term. This library advisory group makes recommendations to library administration and the Hennepin County Board, related to the library system’s operations, long-range planning, collection management and oversight of philanthropic gifts. The two new members take the seats previously held by Sandy Johnson, who reached her three-term limit, and Barb Fenton, who stepped down from the board after serving one term.

About the new members

Adja K. Kaba Ann, of Maple Grove, was appointed to the board in 2015. Ann said she is motivated to ensure that new Americans have an opportunity to access the library. “I wanted to join the board to understand the working of the library,” she said, “and determine how the library can reach out to these families and help bridge any barriers.”

Rahfat Hussain is one of two new members appointed by the County Board at its February 22 meeting. Hussain, of Minneapolis, said he cherishes libraries even more after a childhood without them in North Africa. “It’s a jewel for me,” he said. “If I could find a way to open this up to people who live in our county who don’t know about it, I would ask anyone to help with that.”

Sheila Letscher also is beginning her first Library Board term. A St. Louis Park resident, she saluted the system’s ability to remain relevant by taking the library into communities and by providing needed services such as homework help and book clubs. Letscher cherishes her children’s experiences at Hennepin County libraries, and her own memories of a small-town Carnegie Library in Illinois. “No day was met with more joy than to learn that it was Bookmobile Day,” she recalled.

The three will participate in upcoming Library Board meetings. Their terms will end in 2020.

Board meetings are open to the public.